Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
2008 Pan-Pacific Championship: Make it more inclusive
The US, Japanese and Australian Football Associations have announced that Hawaii will host the first-ever Pan Pacific Championship. It is hoped that it will make a success of the event and include all the nations that border the Pacific Ocean.

MAJOR LEAGUE Soccer (MLS) of the USA has announced the collaboration of the J League in Japan with the Hyundai League of Australia in the light of the inauguration of the 2008 Pan Pacific Championship. The 2008 Pan Pacific Championship will take place in Hawaii and will involve the teams of these leagues. The 2008 Pan Pacific Championship will be held from February 20, 2008 to February 23, 2008.


Two of the teams from the MLS to play in this inaugural championship will be the Houston Dynamos and the Los Angeles Galaxy. Other teams to compete will be: Gamba Osaka from the J League and members of the Hyundai A League of Australia. Gamba Osaka won the 2007 J.League Yamazaki Nabisco Cup.


The 2008 Pan Pacific Championship is a sporting event which is expected to bring together the greatest in football such as David Beckham, Landon Donovan, Brian Ching, Yasuhito Endo and Michihiro Yasuda.


The 2008 Pan Pacific Championship is one of the sporting events that will make 2008 a year for historic sports events such as the Beijing Olympics, the Euro 2008 and the African Cup of Nations.


More personalities such as the CEO of the Football Federation of Australia and the J League Chairman have declared the 2008 Pan Pacific Championship as a beginning.


The Pan Pacific Championship will be the beginning of bigger and better things to come in football in 2008; yet I want to make some suggestions. Imagine if the Pan Pacific Championships were to include nations and regions that border the Pacific Ocean such as New Zealand, Palau, China, Taiwan, the two Koreas, Russia, Tuvalu, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Myanmar, India, Bangladesh, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Peru, Mexico, Canada, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Honduras and El Salvador. 


If all of the nations that border the Pacific were included, then it could be said that there is a true Pan Pacific Championship.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.