Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
7.14 per cent turnout recorded in Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency
Out of 1261395 electorate of Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, a total of 90050 votes were polled at 1559 polling stations during the day-long exercise. The votes also included those cast by migrants at the special polling stations.

Around 7.14 per cent of voter turnout was recorded in 2-Srinagar Parliamentary constituency for which bye-elections were held on Sunday. The constituency comprises of three districts namely Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal.

This information was released by the Chief Electoral Officer, J&K, Shantmanu at a press conference here on Sunday. He was flanked by IGP Kashmir, SJM Gillani and other officers of the Election Department.

He informed that as many as 1559 polling stations had been setup and 6236 poll personnel had been deployed for 1261395 electorate of Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency.

While giving out the break-up of votes polled, Shantmanu said that a total of 90,050 votes had been polled during the day-long exercise. The votes also included those cast by migrants at the special polling stations.

He said that in Srinagar district, 24574 votes were polled in eight Assembly segments of Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency with Hazratbal recording 3483 votes, Zadibal 3280, Eidgah 383, Khanyar 2587, Habba Kadal 2058, Amira Kadal 3331, Sonwar 4777 and Batamaloo 4675.

Similarly, in five Assembly segments of Budgam district, a total of 40288 votes were cast with Chadoora recording 602, Budgam 13276, Beerwah 13625, Khan Sahab 9492 and Chrar-e-Sharief 3293 votes.

In two Assembly segments of Ganderbal district, a total of 24217 votes were polled that included 15199 in Kangan and 9018 in Ganderbal Assembly segments.

He said 3.84 per cent polling was recorded in Srinagar, 8.82 per cent in Budgam and 14.71 per cent in Ganderbal districts.

Kangan Assembly segment in Ganderbal district recorded highest voter turnout of 15199, while lowest polling of 383 votes was recorded in Eidgah Assembly segment of Srinagar district.

A total of 971 votes were also polled at the three migrant polling centres set up at Jammu, Udhampur and New Delhi.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.