Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
8 time BJP MP Sumitra Mahajan unanimously elected as Lok Sabha Speaker
Sumitra Mahajan, an eight-time BJP Member of Parliament, has been elected Speaker of the Lok Sabha on Friday unanimously. She is now the second women as Lok Sabha speaker, the first was her predecessor Meira Kumar.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed her name and Congress Parliamentary Party leader Mallikarjun Kharge and others supported it. That's how she was unanimously elected as the Speaker of Lok Sabha. The others who also proposed her name are AIADMK's M Thambidurai, Trinamool Congress' Sudip Bandopadhyay, and Samajwadi Party's Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Besides the Prime Minister, other Bharatiya Janata Party leaders who proposed her name include Home Minister Rajnath Singh and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and was seconded by by BJP leader Giriraj Singh. The other proposers in the ruling NDA include Ram Vilas Paswan (LJP), Anant Geete (Shiv Sena), Thota Narsimham (TDP) and Harsimrat Kaur Badal (SAD).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Ms Mahajan for her unanimous election as Lok Sabha speaker. 

Leaders of other parties also congratulated the new Speaker by giving short speeches in her honor.

Congress leader, Ajay Maken also congratulated her in a tweet saying:

Sumitra Mahajan, 71, wife of late Jayant Mahajan, has won Lok Sabha elections for eight times from Indore in MP. This time she has won the Lok Sabha elections with a margin of 4,66,301 votes. Mahajan, who is lovingly called 'Tai', is known for her friendly nature and has her friends and admirers in all the parties.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
mulayam singh yadav
(284 Articles)
ram vilas paswan
(101 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.