Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
90th Academy Awards: 'The Shape of Water' wins the Oscar for 'Best Picture'
90th Academy Awards didn't experience any monopoly. "The Shape of Water" was selected as the 'Best Film' of the year. Gary Oldman got the 'Best Actor' award for "Darkest Hour" while Frances McDormand got the Oscar in the 'Best Actress' category for the film "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri".

Meryl Streep, with this year's nomination, extended her Oscar nominations record to 21. Hispanic director Guillermo del Toro won the 'Best Director' award for "The Shape of Water". He has been nominated four times earlier.

Sam Rockwell won the Oscar in the 'Best Supporting Actor' category for the film "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri". The 'Best Supporting Actress' award went to Allison Janney for the biopic on figure skater Tonya Harding titled "I, Tonya".

Award for 'Best Adapted Screenplay' was won by James Ivory for "Call Me By Your Name". It's a Luca Guadagnino directorial based on a novel of the same name by Andre Aciman. Oscar for the 'Best Original Screenplay' was won by Jordan Peele for his own directorial 'Get Out'.

Roger A Deakins won his first Oscar for outstanding cinematography in "Blade Runner 2049"; this was his 14th Oscar nomination. Sebastian Lelio directed "A Fantastic Woman" from Chile won the 'Best Foreign Language Film' award. Interestingly, in 2013, his film 'Gloria' was not even nominated for the competitive section, but in his second appearance at the Oscars, he managed to win the accolade.

Award for 'Best Documentary Feature' went to Netflix documentary "Icarus" by Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan. Oscar for 'Best Documentary Short Subject' was awarded to Frank Stiefel's "Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405".

Rachel Shenton and Chris Overton won the Oscar for 'Best Live Action Short Film' for "The Silent Child". Oscar in the 'Best Sound Editing' was awarded to Richard King and Alex Gibson whereas Gregg Landaker, Garry A Rizzo and Mark Weingarten won the 'Best Sound Mixing' award for Christopher Nolan's "Dunkirk". Lee Smith also won the 'Best Editor' award for "Dunkirk".

"The Shape of Water" also won in the 'Best Production Design' and 'Best Set Decoration' categories.

The Oscar for 'Best Visual Effects' went to Denis Villeneuve's "Blade Runner 2049". 'Best Makeup and Hair styling' category award was won by Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick for the film "Darkest Hour".

Mark Bridges, who had previously won the award for his 2011 film "The Artist" this time again bagged the 'Best Costume Designer' award for the "Phantom Thread".

The song 'Remember Me' from the film "Coco" was selected as the 'Best Original Song', which is penned and performed by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez. However, the Academy Award for the 'Best Original Score' went to Alexandre Desplat for "The Shape of Water".

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.