Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
AFSPA must be repealed to facilitate release of Irom Sharmila: Justice Sachar
The Socialist Party observed one-day token fast on 12 October (Dr. Lohia's Death Anniversary) 2014 in all the states demanding the release of Irom Sharmila and repeal of the Armed Forces Special Power Act (Assam and Manipur) 1958.
The Delhi unit of the party observed the fast at Jantar Mantar in which members of the party and Socialist Yuvjan Sabha (SYS) participated in a big number. Justice Rajindar Sachar, speaking on this occasion, said that the AFSPA must be repealed to facilitate the release of Irom Sharmila who has been protesting against this draconian law for 14 years.

All Indians who believe in democracy and non-violence should unite in support of this demand. He urged the President and the Supreme Court to intervene in this one of the most serious issues of our time.

ND Pancholi (vice president, PUCL), Arun Kumar Srivastav (general secretary, Janata Dal United), Mr. PC Hamzha (secretary, Welfare Party), Rafiq (secretary, Social Democratic Party), Sharif Ahemad (member, Congress), Faisal Khan (president, Khudai Khidmatgar), Imamur Rehman (representative, Jamate Islami), scholars Dr. Vir Bharat Talwar, Dr. Apoorvanand, Dr. VP Srivastav, Dr. Bhagwan Singh, social activists Bina Lakshmi Nepram, Dr. Onkar Mittal, Virendra Lobo, Devendra Bharati, Rakhi Gupta, Ratan Chandra Manav, journalists Arun Trpathi, Dinesh Tiwari, Baba Vijendra, Rajesh Mishra, Rajiv Singh, socialist leaders Shyam Gambhir, Sultan Qureshi, KP Singh, Chandra Shekhar Azad, Ramavtar Swami Baba and others attended the fast and extended their support for the cause.

Sumit Chakravarty (editor, Mainstream), Prof. Anil Sadgopal (educationist), Anil Nauriya (senior fellow, NMML) and Surendra Kumar (secretary, Gandhi Peace Foundation) sent their messages of support.

The program was chaired by Dr. Prem Singh. Stating about the follow up program he told that Justice Sachar, Kuldip Nayar, Dr. Sandeep Pandey and Pannalal Surana met the President and submitted a memorandum. 

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
jantar mantar
(164 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.