Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ipl 2018
Another milestone achieved by Virender Sehwag: Becomes 10th Indian to play 100 IPL matches
Ever since the beginning of the IPL season 8, most of the fans are tracking the performance of many of the former Indian cricketers. It is a matter of interest for one and all to see whether a few of the old cricketers will be able to utilize this platform of IPL for staging a comeback into the main stream.

In the fray, Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Gautam Gambhir happen to be being most followed former stars. However, Virender Sehwag has shown his spark by achieving a few records.

Barely a few days back, Virender Sehwag had broken the record of hitting maximum number of boundaries in the IPL with a total of 438 boundaries registered in his name. He had overtaken the record of Chris Gayle who was holding earlier record of 433. After the match against KKR on April 18, Sehwag has now got 440 boundaries which includes 334 fours and 106 sixes against his name.

In the latest development, however, despite the four wickets defeat of his team Kings XI Punjab at hands of KKR, Virender Sehwag has become the 10th cricketer to have played in 100 or more matches in the IPL. Although, he could score only 11 runs before getting caught by Piyush Chawla off Andre Russell, 100 matches is a good achievement.

In the IPL, so far, Virender Sehwag has represented only two teams - Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab. The attacking 36 year old batsman has scored a total of 2734 runs in his 100 matches, with a reasonably good T20 average of 28.66. These includes 2 centuries and 6 half centuries.

Here is the list of players who have played over 100 IPL matches.

1. Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings-118 matches)

2. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians-116)

3. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings-115)

4. Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders-110)

5. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore-109)

6. Yusuf Pathan (KKR-109)

7. Dinesh Karthik (RCB-108)

8. Gautam Gambhir (KKR-107)

9. Piyush Chawla (KKR-101)

10. Virender Sehwag (Kings XI-100)

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.