Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Assembly election results 2017: Live - The story of five states so far
Counting of votes is underway in five Indian states - UP, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa - where elections were held earlier this year. Clear trends are expected to emerge in almost all states by 11 am today. Here are the latest trends available with us:

U. Pradesh(403/403)
     Punjab (117/117)
  Manipur(60/60)   Goa(40/40)
Party LeadsWonParty LeadsWon Party LeadSWon PartyLeadWon Party LeadsWon 
BJP+ 0 325Cong 0 77BJP 0 56BJP 0 21Cong  0 17
SP+Cong 0 54 AAP  0 20Cong 0 11Cong  0 26BJP 0 13
BSP 0 19SAD+BJP 0 18BSP  0 0NPF 0 4AAP 0 0
Others  0  5Others  0 2Others  0 2Othres 0 7Others 0 10

Exit polls of Thursday had predicted that the state of Uttar Pradesh will see a hung Assembly with the BJP emerging as the largest party in the Hindi heartland state, winning anywhere between 160 and 200 out of the 403 seats.

However, a totally different trend is visible in the north Indian state of Punjab with anti incumbency playing against the ruling SAD-BJP combine, clearly favouring the Congress and new enterant the Aam Aadmi Party. Most forecasts predict that Congress led by Captain Amrinder Singh will make a return to power after a gap of 10 years in Punjab.

The BJP is also expected to emerge as the single largest party in Uttarakhand, according to exit polls, putting to rest all hopes of the Harish Rawat-led Congress government retaining power in the state. 

In Goa, too, BJP is expected to get 15-20 seats out of the 40 Assembly seats. According to exit polls BJP would be closely followed by the ruling Congress, while the debutant, AAP is expected to end up with just 2-4 seats.   

The Northeastern state of Manipur is expected to get a split verdict. While some have speculated that BJP will form the government, a few predict that Congress led by Okram Ibobi will return for the fourth term. On the other hand, Irom Sharmila who is fighting her first election is expected to make a weak debut. 

The final results will be announced today, so stay tuned for further updates.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.