Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Australia wins Women's Cricket World Cup for sixth time
The Australian women's cricket team came up with a brilliant performance to win the 2013 Women's World Cup by defeating West Indies in the finals of the tournament. The Aussies won the match easily with 114-runs, which was held at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. This is the sixth time that Australia's women team has won the title, thus establishing themselves as the powerhouse of women's cricket.

The Australians were the first ones to make use of the pitch with their openers, M Lanning and R Haynes scoring 31 and 52 runs respectively. J Cameron was the highest scorer of the match with 75 runs. With her batting display, she walked away with the player of the match award as well. The Australians came up with a good score on the board – 259 runs for the loss of seven wickets. The Australians were a happier lot with the score, as they had bowlers who could rattle the West Indies batswomen.

It was not only the batsmen who came up with good performances, but the bowlers also showed their class. As a result, West Indies scored only 145 runs. E Perry was the highest wicket taker in the finals with three wickets along with M Schutt and L Sthalekar who took two wickets respectively. Many of the West Indies players got off the block, but could not convert their scores into a big one. MR Aguilleira scored 23 runs for West Indies- highest score by a West Indian in the game.

But the match result did not come as a surprise for many, as the Australians were considered to be one of the favourites to win the championship even before the tournament started. The first World Cup took place in 1982, which was won by the Aussies as well. They defeated England. Ever since, they have been the best women’s team winning the tournament in 1988, 1997, 2005 and the latest 2013.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.