Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Bihar becomes first non-NDA state to ratify GST Bill
Bihar has become the second State after Assam to ratify the Constitution (122nd) Amendment Bill for Goods and Services Tax (GST). With this it has become the first non-NDA ruled state to pass the GST Bill.

The Bihar Assembly held a special one-day session today to discuss and clear the GST Bill. 

The GST Bill was introduced by Bijendra Prasad Yadav, Bihar's State Minister for Commercial Tax in the Assembly and the legislatures in Bihar unanimously voted in favour of the Bill.

Recently, both the houses of the Parliament had passed the GST Bill unanimously. The Rajya Sabha had cleared it on August 3 and the Lok Sabha passed it on August 9. The government has set a deadline of April, 2017 for its rollout. However, the Bill will become effective only after it is approved by half of the state legislatures. 

So, to enable a timely rollout of GST the Government needs 13 states to validate the Bill. After that it will go to the President for his assent.

As per reports, Jharkhand is likely to be the third state to validate the Bill, while Gujarat is going to follow it.

The GST Bill, which is considered to be one of the biggest tax reforms in the country, will convert India into a single tax regime. 

The Bill was pending for more than an year, because the opposition parties were demanding certain changes in it.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.