Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
BJP fails litmus test in Bihar & UP bypolls losing both Gorakhpur and Phulpur
Celebrations started by SP workers in Lucknow after the party in alliance with Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) defeated the BJP in both Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh bypolls 2018. The air was filled with slogans of 'Bhua-Bhateeja zindabad'.

Totally contrary to early trends, in a major setback to the saffron party, the BJP lost both Parliament seats in Uttar Pradesh to the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party.

UP CM Yogi Adityanath, while conceding defeat at a press conference today, said that the party will analyse the reasons and improve its performance.

In Bihar, Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD won the Araria Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 61,988 votes. While the RJD candidate Kumar Krishna Mohan alias Uday Yadav won the Jehanabad Assembly seat, BJP candidate Rinki Rani Pandey was declared winner from the Bhabhua Assembly seat.

SP's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel won from Phulpur by a margin of 59,613 votes beating his nearest rival BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel. In Gorakhpur, BJP candidate Upendra Dutt Shukla lost to Samajwadi Party's Praveen Kumar Nishad by a margin of 21,881 votes.

Counting of votes began today at 8 am for crucial byelections in two Parliament seats in Uttar Pradesh; and two Assembly seats and one Parliament seat in Bihar.

In Uttar Pradesh, traditional arch rivals Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party (SP) and Mayawati-led Bahujan Smaj Party (BSP) had combined forces to take on the BJP in what is being seen as an experiment for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

While the Gorakhpur seat was vacated by Yogi Adityanath, who held it for five terms before becoming the chief minister, the Phulpur Parliament seat had been vacated by his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya.

In voting for the UP bypolls for the two seats which took place on Sunday, while Gorakhpur saw a voter turn out of 47.45 per cent, 37.39 per cent people had cast their votes in Phulpur.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.