Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Cabinet Expansion: Narendra Modi's new Cabinet colleagues
In the first Cabinet expansion exercise after coming into power, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted 21 new ministers into his Cabinet. Modi also changed portfolios of few existing Cabinet ministers. After the reshuffle now there are 66 ministers in NDA government's minister of council.

Here is the list of the portfolios of the 21 new ministers inducted in the Cabinet:

  • Former Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar, is the new defence minister
  • Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, a former Shiv Sena member is the new Rail minister
  • JP Nadda, a Rajya Sabha member from Himachal Pradesh has been given the Health Ministry.
  • Birender Singh, who is an influential Jat leader in Haryana is the new Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation minister.
  • Mukthar Abbas Naqvi, the Muslim face of the BJP has been given the Minority Affairs Minister as MoS with additional charge of Parliamentary affairs.
  • Rajiv Pratap Rudy, a 52-year-old commercial pilot, who defeated former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi from Saran constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha elections has been given the Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge), Parliamentary Affairs.
Dr Mahesh Sharma is a doctor by profession and also the owner of Kailash Group of Hospitals is the new Minister of State (Independent Charge), Culture and Tourism as well as MoS, Civil Aviation.

  • Ram Kripal Yadav known for his separation from RJD has been given Drinking Water & Sanitation ministry.

  • Sanwar Lal Jat will look after Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation.

  • Mohan Kundariya 63-year-old first time BJP MP from Rajkot is the Agriculture Minister of State.

  • Giriraj Singh, a former minister in Bihar cabinet during Nitish Kumar's regime, is given the Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises.

  • Ram Shankar- 50-year-old Shankar was a professor before stepping into politics. He is the new Human Resource Development Minister of State.

  • Haribhai Chowdhary is the MoS for Home Affairs

  • Hansraj Ahir is the MoS for Chemicals & Fertilizers

  • YS Chowdhary is the MoS for Science and Technology, Earth Science

  • Jayant Sinha, is the MoS for Finance.

  • Rajvardhan Singh Rathore is the MoS for Information & Broadcasting

  • Babul Supriyo, the singer turned politician is the MoS for Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation.

  • Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti is the MoS for Food Processing Industries

  • Vijay Sampla is the MoS for Social Justice & Empowerment

  • Bandaru Dattatreya has been given the independent charge for Labour and Employment MoS.

  • With the induction of new ministers, Modi also changed portfolios of some of the existing ministers.

    • D V Sadananda Gowda has been given law and Justice ministry from the high-profile Railways. 

    • Ex-Health Minister Harsh Vardhan is shifted to low-profile Science & Technology and Earth Sciences ministry.

    • Finance and Corporate Affairs Minister Arun Jaitley, handed over his Defence Ministry to former Goa CM Manohar Parrikar. Jaitley is also now Information and Broadcasting minister replacing Prakash Javadekar.

    • Former Army chief Gen V K Singh has been relieved of the charge of Development of North-Eastern Region.

    • Nitin Gadkari has been relieved of Rural Development which will now be handled by Birender Singh.

    • Communications and Information Technology Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has been relieved of Law and Justice and is given to Sadananda Gowda.

    COMMENTS (5)
    Email Id
    Verification Code
    Email me on reply to my comment
    Email me when other CJs comment on this article
    Sign in to set your preference
    merinews for RTI activists
    In This Article
    manohar parrikar
    (14 Articles)
    vasundhara raje
    (6 Articles)

    Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.