Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Centenary Year Celebrations of Acharya Mahapragya of Jainism kick off worldwide
The Centenary Year Celebration of Acharya Mahapragya (1996-2010) - the 10th Acharya of Terapanth Shewtambara Jainism - kicked off across the world on June 30, 2019. Both in Banglore and Sardarshahar, the functions have been organized to kick off the celebrations.

Acharya Mahapragya (1920 ? 2010) was the tenth head of the Shvetambar Terapanth order of Jainism who was a revered spiritual leader. author and orator. He became a Jain monk at the age of ten.

Later, as the head of the sect, he formulated the well organized Preksha meditation system and developed the 'Science of Living' curriculum which is a practical approach for the balanced development of a student and his character building. I had been associated with curriculum programme for sometime,

Acharya Mahapragya started writing when he was 22  and authored more than 300 books till he breathed his last on various aspects Jain philosophy and righteous living  and  These works deal with meditation and spirituality, the mind, the human psyche and its traits, the roots of emotions and their manifestation through behaviour, Mantra saadhana, Yog, Anekantavada, Non violence, and Jain philosophy and history.

He had deemed Jainism a scientific religion and had tried link the Jain concepts of karma /  human behavior with the findings of modern biology of genetics, DNA, hormones and the endocrine system.

He traversed the length and breadth of the country spreading the message of harmony and peace. To promote nonviolence, peace and harmony in the society, he launched the Ahimsa Yatra movement in 2001.

Terapanth is a religious sect of Shewtambara Jainism founded by Acharya Bhikshuthat in the 18th Century that stresses 13 religious principles known as the Terapantha or "thirteen-panthan". Consequently, the practice of one leader regulating the entire order is a unique feature Terapanthi Shewtambara Jainism.  Acharya Mahasharman is the current leaderof the sect is the eleventh one.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.