Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Chankya love may prove costly to BJD chief Naveen Patnaik
In 2014 Lok Sabha and Assembly elections BJD has denied ticket to 35 sitting MLAs and 6 MPs. Among sitting MLAs denied ticket were three prominent leaders and former ministers like finance minister Prafulla Ghadai, former law minister Raghunath Mohanty, former energy minister Kalandi Behera (on health ground) and former women and child development minister Anjali Behera.

The sitting MPs who have been denied tickets are Nityananda Pradhan (Aska), Mohan Jena (Jajpur), Rudramadhav Ray (Kandhamal), Yoswant Singh Laguri (Keonjhar), Jayram Pangi (Koraput) and Laxman Tudu (Mayurbhanj).

Apart these veterans many young but popular sitting MLAs were also denied ticket. In a hilarious style BJD student wing Sate President Byomokesh Ray has replaced his uncle Bijay Nayak. Pritiranjan Ghadai had replced his father Prafulla Ghadai his in Sukinda and recently elected Rajya Sabha MP Kalpataru Das has been replaced by his son. There are rumours in Jajpur Lok Sabha contituency that Das has played the Rajya Sabha card to facilitate his son's political debut.

In a surprising move, the red boy of May 29, 2012, a red letter date in Odisha's political calender, former minister Sarada Nayak is fighting Assembly elections on BJD ticket. Prabhat Biswal also adds his name to the Assembly candidates' list including Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak.

“Not person, party is most important', those who have the most possibility of victory have been given tickets. In this trick of ticket distribution BJD leaders who were denied tickets are united to show their power at the opportune time,” sources report.

The first rocket of protest was launched with open protest of Anjali Behera. Three rebel BJD candidates Anjali Behera (Hindol Assembly contituency), Kusha Apat (Champua) and Raghunandan Das (Ersama-Balikuda), who have been expelled from the party for anti-party activities like raising voice against ticket distribution have filed their nominations as independents after they were denied party ticket. It is just the smoke of burning anger of denied leaders.

Self declared clean personality BJD chief Naveen Patnaik has offered tickets to many MLAs and ex-ministers who were suspended for having link with corruption and scandals like 'Dal Durnity', whereas many leaders with clean image have failed to pocket ticket.

Apart from these, many youth aspirants who had already distributed posters and banners of their names in a certain hope of the BJD ticket and have been working for the party for more than a decade while having a strong hold in their constituencies have failed to get the blessings of party supremo Naveen Patnaik.

Former president of BJD student wing and the ex-vice-president of party's youth wing Ranjieet Mahapatra is just an example with more than 50 hoardings of his visible in the capital city of Bhubaneswara.

Sources claim that Patnaik is never out of influence of various Chanakyas (political advisors). After Pyari Mohan Mohapatra, there are two more Chanakyas who are advising the BJD chief. One is from Cuttack and other is from Jajpur.

This Chanakya love of Naveen Patnaik may cost a lot to BJD. Political critics expect that this under cover anger among party cadre may supply wind to NaMo wave.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.