Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Congress veterans lose in Karnataka
Some veterans have lost, across the states. There have been some come-back-from-behind wins too, notably that of the BJP General Secretary, Anant Kumar from Bangalore South. The Left seems to have done something right by winning in Coimbatore.
WELL, IT is time we started looking at the results more in terms of wins and losses than in terms of leads and lags. Prominent among the losers in Karnataka are Margaret Alva and Janardhan Poojary, former union ministers. In Bellary, the lone BJP candidate who was trailing her Congress rival as reported earlier, fought back to win by a slender margin of 2000 plus votes. Veteran Congress leader and former minister Jaffer Sharieff lost from Bangalore Central. Surprisingly, the BJP General Secretary Anant Kumar came from behind to defeat Krishna Byre Gowda in spite of trailing him by a considerable margin as reported earlier. Film star Ambarish, who was trailing as reported earlier, has lost.

In Andhra Pradesh, the Congress has won in 16 constituencies while leading in 17. The Mahakootam has won in six constituencies while leading in two. As reported earlier, the BJP and the PRP have drawn a blank.

In the elections to the AP assembly, the Congress has won in 141 constituencies while leading in 14. The Mahakootam has won in 101 while leading in 6. The PRP has won in 18 while leading in one constituency. The BJP has drawn a blank here too.

In Tamilnadu, prominent among the losers are Mani Shankar Iyer. Prominent among the winners are Raja and Palani Manickam, ministers in the outgoing government and M K Azhagiri, son of DMK supremo Karunanidhi, from Madurai.

Prominent among the winners from Kerala is Shashi Tharoor. Prominent among the losers is Muraleedharan of the NCP. He is the son of the former Kerala CM, Karunakaran.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
shashi tharoor
(80 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.