Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Conrad Sangma takes oath as Chief Minister of Meghalaya
Conrad Sangma, President of the National People's Party (NPP) today took oath as the 12th Chief Minister of Meghalaya at a ceremony in Shillong.

Governor Ganga Prasad administered the oath of office to Sangma along with 11 ministers in a ceremony organised at the Raj Bhavan.

Also present in the swearing-in ceremony were Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP president Amit Shah, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh and BJP national spokesperson Nalin Kohli.

The NPP had secured 19 seats in the recently concluded Assembly election. The party has formed the government with the backing of the BJP, United Democratic Party (UDP), People’s Democratic Front (PDF), HSPDP and an independent.

While the BJP and HSPDP had secured two seats each, the UDP managed to win six and PDF secured four seats in the recently held state Assembly elections.

Reportedly, in Tripura, Biplab Kumar Deb would take oath on March 9 as first BJP Chief Minister of the Northeastern state. In wake of the demand raised by the IPFT, coalition partner of the saffron party in the state, a deputy chief minister would be included in the Deb’s council of ministers. Deb’s deputy would be a tribal face.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.