Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Dr. K.K. Aggarwal elected as the new Secretary General of the Indian Medical Association
Adding another milestone achievement to his medical career; eminent cardiologist, and President of Heart Care Foundation of India Dr. K.K. Aggarwal has been unanimously elected as the new Honorary National Secretary General of the Indian Medical Association for the year 2014-16.

He is the only doctor in the country to have received three national awards namely the Padma  Dr. BC Roy National Award and DST National Science Communication Award.

At present, Dr. KK Aggarwal is the Senior National Vice President of the IMA, which serves as the largest national organization of "Doctors of Modern Scientific System of Medicine" in the country. During his one-year tenure, he has played an instrumental role in streamlining the processes and functioning of the only representative voluntary institution in India, which looks after the interest of doctors as well as the well being of the community at large. Instituted in 1928 the Indian Medical Association has over 250,000 members and 1700 branches across the nation.


In addition to this, Padma Awardee Dr. A. Marthanda Pillai who belongs to Kerala and Dr. S.S. Aggarwal from Rajasthan have been appointed IMA's new National Presidents. Dr. R.N. Tandon from Delhi will be IMA's new National Finance Secretary.


Commenting on the occasion, Dr. K.K. Aggarwal, said, "It is indeed an honor to be unanimously elected as the Honorary Secretary General of an institution as noble in cause and prestigious in stature as the Indian Medical Association. I look forward to serving the body for the next two years with uttermost commitment and honesty towards the benefit of the medical profession as a whole. I congratulate my fellow colleagues Dr. Pillai, Dr. S.S. Aggarwal and Dr. Tandon on their appointment as well and look forward to working with them."


The new working year for the Indian Medical Association starts annually on the occasion of it's Founder's day on December 28th. This year for the first time ever, both IMA's President as well as Secretary General will be Padma Shri Awardees.


A leading healthcare communicator, Dr. Aggarwal's other roles also include Dean of the Board of Medical Education Moolchand Medcity, Member Ethics Committee Medical Council of India, Chairman Ethics Committee Delhi Medical Council, Editor in Chief IJCP Group of Publications and eMedinewS and Chairman Legal Cell Indian Academy of Echocardiography.


Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.