Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Champions League T20
Four IPL teams in Champions League T20 not justified
The Champions League T20 will become a league of champions only when it treats all the cricketing nations fairly, which currently it doesn't. It is highly unfair that four teams from IPL are given direct access while champion sides from Pakistan, Sri Lanka and new Zealand have to sweat it out in the qualifier stage.

CHAMPIONS LEAGUE T20 competition, after all seems to be a baby of IPL, as out of the total 10 teams in the competition, four are IPL franchises. With this, the competition doesn't look fair for other teams across the world, especially when it is seen as a global event, played only amongst champions of champions.

South Africa and Australia also have two teams that directly make it to the main stage of the competition through invitation. India, South Africa and Australia are the owners of the championship, but it is the BCCI, which primarily operates the Champions league T20. The championship does not need such orgainsation ruining the league, but a group of dedicated members who organise the tournament in a fair manner. The competition has been hosted twice each by India and South Africa till date.

The orgainsers have shown their diktat in various forms like champion teams from other nations such as New Zealand, Pakistan, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka have to go through the qualifiers to make it to the main stage of the competition. As for the IPL teams, there were four teams, which made it to the main stage, again through invitation. Can anyone justify this inclusion without talking about the powerful IPL and BCCI's involvement? Why are teams from IPL being treated differently? This clearly increases the chances of either South African, Indian or an Australian team winning the championship. Two Indian teams and one Australian team has won the tournament previously.

By asking champion teams from other nations to play in the qualifiers, the orgainsers are questioning the quality of their teams. These champion sides have to play in the qualifiers and prove their worth in two to three matches, which is not an easy task. This needs to change. Champion sides from New Zealand, England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka need to gain direct entry without playing those qualifiers.

To give all champion teams an equal chance of winning the title, the competition needs to reduce  the number of IPL teams along with South African and Australian teams. The competition could be much stronger, if all the champion teams from other nations make it to the main draw without playing the qualifiers. Then only, it would be fair to call the Champions League T20 a League of Champions.

Editorial NOTE: This article is categorized under Opinion Section. The views expressed in this article are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of In case you have a opposing view, please click here to share the same in the comments section.
Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
(952 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.