Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
ICC Champions Trophy 2017: India V/s Pakistan – one who wins the toss will probably win the match
In the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which is scheduled to be played from June 1 to 15 in England, the much awaited and the most hyped match of the tournament will be played between arch rivals India and Pakistan on Sunday, June 4 at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The match will start at 3:00 pm IST. Both the teams shall start their Champions Trophy 2017 campaign with this match. In the Champions Trophy, Pakistan bears a better record against India. Both the Asian countries have played 3 matches against each other in the tournament so far with Pakistan leading 2-1. Both the teams have played two times against each other at Edgbaston before the Champions Trophy 2017 and their win record stands at 1-1. At this venue, India had beaten Pakistan on June 15, 2013 and also won the Champions Trophy that year. However, in their first face-to-face encounter in the ICC Champions Trophy 2004, Pakistan had won by 3 wickets.

In their second Champions Trophy encounter on September 26, 2009 played at SuperSport Park in Centurion, South Africa; once again Pakistan defeated India by 54 runs. For India, while Rahul Dravid has the best individual score in batting against Pakistan in the ICC Champions Trophy, for Pakistan, Shoaib Malik has the best batting figures. Rahul Dravid's highest score in the ICC Champions Trophy against Pakistan is 76 runs while Shoaib Malik has a highest score of 128 runs against India.

In the bowling department, for India, Ashish Nehra has the best figures of 10-0-55-4 and for Pakistan, Naved-ul-Hasan has best bowling figures of 9-1-25-4. India has won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 and was the joint-winner along with Sri Lanka in 2002. Pakistan, on the other hand, reached the semi-finals in 2009, 2004 & 2000, but has never won the ICC Champions Trophy.

One more interesting fact is that between India vs Pakistan in the ICC Champions Trophy, on all the three occasions, the team which won the toss also won the match. In the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, Virat Kohli is leading the Indian team and the Pakistani squad is being led by Sarfraz Ahmed. Including the defending champions India, eight top ICC teams will participate in this 50-overs tournament. Eight teams are divided into two groups of four teams each. The teams in group "A", including the hosts England are Australia, New Zealand and Bangladesh whereas in group "B", apart India and Pakistan, the other two teams are South Africa and Sri Lanka. All the teams will play 3 matches each in the group stage. It is for the first time that West Indies did not qualify to play in the ICC Champions Trophy.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.