Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: Be wary of first-time finalist
India and Sri Lanka won the Cricket World Cup in their first appearance in a semi final and final. West Indies won the World Cup in its first appearance in a semi final and final. Now, all eyes are on the Kiwis - who could be first-time finalists.
ICC CRICKET World Cup 2011 has now reached its last week. Three matches to go to decide who among four captains MS Dhoni of India, Shahid Afridi of Pakistan, Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka and Daniel Vettori of New Zealand, will lift the glittering trophy of the tenth edition of the Cricket World Cup on April 2 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Out of the two semi final matches of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, first semi final will be played between Sri Lanka vs New Zealand on Tuesday, March 29 at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, and the second semi final match will be played between India vs Pakistan at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali on Wednesday, March 30.

Out of the four semi finalists of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, India has played four semi finals in 1983, 1987, 1996, 2003 and two finals in 1983, 2003. India won the trophy in 1983 under the leadership of Kapil Dev. Pakistan has played five semi finals in 1979, 1983, 1987, 1992 and 1999 and finals in 1992 and 1999.
In 1992 Cricket World Cup Pakistan emerged as the winner under the captaincy of Imran Khan.

The other two semi finalists of the Cricket World Cup 2011, Sri Lanka and New Zealand, have played three and five semi finals of the Cricket World Cup. Sri Lanka has played semi finals in 1996, 2003, 2007, whereas the Lankans reached in final two times in 1996 and 2007. In 1996, Arjuna Ranatunga became the third Asian captain who lifted the Cricket World Cup trophy.

Out of the four semi finalists, New Zealand is the only team that has reached the semi finals of the Cricket World Cup on five occasions in 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999 and 2007. But it has never played in the final of the biggest cricketing event.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
ms dhoni
(379 Articles)
shahid afridi
(105 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.