Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
ICC Cricket World Cup Preview
The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup gets under way this weekend, and we looks set for six weeks of exciting action in Australia and New Zealand.

This year will be the 11th time the competition has taken place, and this is the second occasion on which a trans-Tasman hosting bid has been successful, with Australia and new Zealand having previously jointly held the Cricket World Cup back in 1992.

While India arrive as defending champions, it is Australia who the odds compilers over at make their 2/1 favourites to land what would be a fifth crown. India have been priced up rather generously, and are only 4th best at odds of 9/1 behind the Australians, South Africa, and co-hosts New Zealand. Currently ranked as the best One Day side in the world, Australia have the big advantage of playing a number of the World Cup matches on home soil. They were always likely to be one of the favourites to be victorious, but there is also an added element of pressure playing in front of your home fans and having been handed the favourite tag before the tournament has even begun.

A total of 14 teams will be taking part in the 2015 Cricket World Cup, with the sides initially divided into two groups of seven and will play each other once, before the top four in each group progress to the quarter final stage. A Super Over will be utilised should any of the matches finishes as a tie apart from in the final, where a draw will result in the trophy being shared by the two nations. While the Super Over is a particularly unsatisfactory way to resolve a match for some cricket purists, it makes sense in a one day format such as this, especially during the group stages of the competition. Ten teams automatically qualified for this World Cup by being full members of the ICC, with a further four places available via World Cup Qualifers, and the World Cricket League Championship. Ireland, Afganistan, Scotland and the United Arab Emirates are the sides that have entered by these two methods, but all are priced up as rank outsiders in the Betfair market. The United Arab Emirates are the biggest price of all however, available at odds of 5000/1!

One of the sides it would be very dangerous to overlook here in Australia and New Zealand is South Africa. With the Test side currently ranked number one in the world, they became the first team to be ranked as number one in all three formats of the game in 2012, and are sure to be competitive over the next six weeks of play. While only ranked third for One Day cricket, South Africa may well have been saving their very best for this World Cup, and AB de Villiers men will be desperate to win their nation's very first Cricket World Cup title. This South African side look to have the perfect blend of youth and experience, and with odds of 3/1 currently available at bookmaker Betfair, the Proteas should be a solid wager for this 11th World Cup renewal.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.