Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
ICC Hall of Fame only includes best of the best cricketers
ICC Hall of Fame includes cricketers who have proved themselves at the international level for years. Brian Lara will be included in the list on September 15 2012 during the ICC awards. Since its inception in 2009, only 68 players have made it to the list.

WHEN THE Cricket annual awards take place on September 15 2012, Brian Lara and Enid Bakewell will be inducted into the International Cricket Council Hall of Fame for their outstanding contribution towards the game of cricket in the men's and women's game respectively. It was only a matter of time that one of the greatest players of West Indies cricket, Brian Lara would find a place in the amazing list of cricketers.

The ICC Hall of Fame was introduced quite recently in 2009 to recognize accomplishments that a cricketer has achieved in her/his cricket career. Initially, only 55 cricketers were included in the list, but that has been gradually increasing year after year. It is normally during the ICC awards that a number of selected players are added in the list. It is a proud moment for players to figure on such a prestigious list, which includes players such as Allan Border, Graham Gooch, Lance Gibbs, and Michael Holding etc.

As of now there are 68 players in the prestigious list. English, Australian and the West Indian cricketers dominate the list with 25, 17 and 16 cricketers respectively. From the sub continent, there are few players who find their name in the list. A total of 7 cricketers, which includes four from Pakistan and three from India. Bishan Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev are the Indians who are inducted in the list. South Africa and New Zealand have two and one cricketer each. In its list of 68 cricketers, two of them are women cricketers, namely Rachael Heyhoe Flint and Belinda Clark. Enid Bakewell would be the third women's name on the list in the upcoming ICC awards.

But, it is understood when players from Australia, England and West Indies have many cricketers in the list, as it it was these three countries that dominated the sport between 1950 to 1980. But, we can expect cricketers from other nations also to be on the list in the near future, as players from around the world also have been achieveing great things in the game. So we may soon also see players such as Arvinda De Silva, and Rahul Dravid, etc., in the list as well.

Editorial NOTE: This article is categorized under Opinion Section. The views expressed in this article are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of In case you have a opposing view, please click here to share the same in the comments section.
Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
icc awards
(7 Articles)
rahul dravid
(374 Articles)
sunil gavaskar
(100 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.