Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
ICC T20 World Cup
ICC World T20 2016: Here's something you would like to know about the tournament
The sixth edition of ICC World T20 kicks off today, with India playing the perfect host to the tournament. In the past nine years, since the ICC World T20 began in 2007, the cup has been won by five different teams, with no country managing to win it twice so far.

India were the first winners of the ICC World T20, which was hosted by South Africa in 2007. The tournament started with great success with the perfect final played between arch rivals Indian and Pakistan. It was only the Indian team which held on to their nerves to clinch the final in the end.

After South Africa, the tournament was hosted by England (2009), West Indies (2010), Sri Lanka (2012), Bangladesh (2014) and now the sixth edition takes place in India.

Here's a brief history of past winners of the ICC World T20:


Host country: South Africa (2007)

Winner: India

Runner-up: Pakistan

Top run scorer: Matthew Hayden – 265 runs

Top wicket taker: Umar Gul – 13


Host country: England (2009)

Winner: Pakistan

Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Top run scorer: Tillakaratne Dilshan – 317 runs

Top wicket taker: Umar Gul – 13


Host country: West Indies (2010)

Winner: England

Runner-up: Australia

Top run scorer: Mahela Jayawardena – 302 runs

Top wicket taker: Dirk Nannes – 14


Host country: Sri Lanka (2012)

Winner: West Indies

Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Top run scorer: Shane Watson – 249 runs

Top wicket taker: Ajantha Mendis – 15

Host country: Bangladesh (2014)

Winner: Sri Lanka

Runner-up: India

Top run scorer: Virat Kohli – 319 runs

Top wicket taker: Imran Tahir – 12

Another interesting fact about the the ICC World T20 is that a host nation has never won the final. But this time things might turn out different, as hosts India go in as the tournament favourites after winning the Asia Cup 2016 just recently against Bangladesh.

The ICC World T20 will be held in India from March 8 to April 3, 2016. Seven Indian cities shall host the matches and the final will be played at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata. The sixth edition of World T20 will feature 16 teams, out of which 10 teams have qualified automatically due to their status as permanent members of ICC, while the remaining 6 teams will have to play against each other and only two teams out of them will join the top 10 teams in the super 10 stage. Oman is the only country which makes its debut in the tournament.

The ICC World T20 has already come under controversy after the government of Himachal Pradesh has refused to allow the T20 match between India and Pakistan to take place at Dharamshala stadium. 

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.