Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
In a major reshuffle Chandrababu Naidu inducts son Nara Lokesh into the cabinet
Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu in a major reshuffle on Sunday, inducted 11 new ministers into his cabinet and dropped five ministers.

The focus of the cabinet reshuffle was centred around induction of his son Nara Lokesh, who had few days ago been elected as an MLC. This will be for the first time in Andhra Pradesh politics that son of a chief minister has joined his father's cabinet, formalising politics of succession.

Immediately after being sworn in as minister, Lokesh took the blessings of his father and chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu as well as Governor ESL Narasimhan on stage.

Governor ESL Narasimhan administrated the swearing-in of new ministers in Amaravati. The present cabinet is said to be a strategic team taking into consideration various caste and regional equations keeping in mind the 2019 polls.

Besides Lokesh, TDP Andhra Pradesh president and Etcherla MLA Kala Venkata Rao (Srikakulam), the party politburo member and MLC Somiredddy Chandramohan Reddy (Nellore), Achanta MLA and former Congress minister Pitani Satyanarayana, Kovur MLA KS Jawahar (West Godavari), Vemur MLA N Anand Babu (Guntur), Government whip and Rayadurgam MLA Kaluva Srinivasulu (Anantapur), were also inducted into the Cabinet.

Among the 21 MLAs who had defected from the opposition YSR Congress party to TDP, four of them have been inducted into the cabinet. They are, Bobbili MLA Sujay Krishna Ranga Rao (Vizianagaram), Jammalamadugu MLA C Adinarayana Reddy (Kadapa), Palamaner MLA N Amarnath Reddy (Chittoor) and Allagadda MLA Akhila Priya (Kurnool).

Besides a major reshuffle, no representation was given for STs and minorities. The women representation in the cabinet went down to two from three. Among 11 new ministers, only three have previous ministerial experience. They are Kimidi Kala Venkata Rao, Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy and Pithani Sathyanarayana.

As promised to the children of former MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy who passed away on March 12, this year, chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu took upon himself the responsibility of inducting Allagadda MLA Bhuma Akhila Priya, Nagi Reddy's daughter, into the cabinet. She is the youngest minister in the state cabinet.

Those five dropped from the cabinet are : Bojjala Gopalakrishna Reddy, Palle Raghunadha Reddy, Ravela Kishore Babu, Peethala Sujatha and K Mrunalini.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.