Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Read all Latest News and Updates from Gurgaon
Inderjit Singh Rao wins; Zakir Hussain a close second and Yogendra Yadav lags at fourth place in Gurgaon
Now that India is high on Modi, it is time to look at the Gurgaon elections, which has been quite interesting and not as predictable. Yogendra Yadav, the AAP leader and the person who was the most visible in the elections campaign lost terribly to BJP, INLD and Congress's Inderjit Singh Rao, Zakir Hussain and Rao Dharam Pal respectively.

Inderjit Singh Rao got a total of 5,70,596 votes; Zakir Hussain got a total of 3,39,055; Rao Dharam Pal got a total of 1,20,938 votes whereas the AAP leader Yogendra Singh lagged behind at 70,039 votes. The numbers do not match up to the expectation of what AAP was trying to build.

Infact, they also alleged that bogus voting has happened in Gurgaon and demanded a 100 percent repolling. Keeping in the view the increase in the number of votes in urban Gurgaon, the Election Commission conceded and repolling in 8 polling booths happened on May 15, a day before the counting of votes. However, that did not change matters much in the favour of AAP and they lagged behind in the fourth place.

The other players in Gurgaon were Bahujan Samaj Party's Dharampal who got 60355; Independent leaders such as Kusheshwar Bhagat who got 6875 votes; Fauji Jai Kawar tyagi Dixit who got 2866 votes and Manoj Yadav who received a total of 2866 votes etc.

Issues such as infrastructure, development, women safety and electricity are some of the key issues, which the new leader would have to address at an immediate basis.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.