Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
India needs 275 runs to win Cricket World Cup 2011
With the help of a brilliant 103 runs by Mahela Jayawardene and 32 runs by Nuwan Kulasekara, Sri Lanka set the target of 275 runs for the Indian team to win the tenth edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.
IN THE allotted fifty overs, the Sri Lankans batsmen scored 274 runs for the loss of six wickets. Mahela Jayawardene completed his 14th ODI hundred and second in the ongoing world Cup in 84 balls with thirteen boundaries.

Sri Lanka lost its first wicket in the seventh over of the match on the bowling of Zaheer Khan, with Virender Sehwag taking a brilliant catch of Upul Tharanga at first slip. In-form Sri Lankan opener Tillakaratne Dilshan returned to the pavilion when his personal score was 33. Harbhajan Singh bowled him in the 17th over of the match when the Lankans had scored a total of 60 runs.

For the third wicket captain Sangakkara and his deputy Mahela Jayawardene added 62 runs in 12.2 overs. Indian 'magician' in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, Yuvraj Singh took the wicket of Sangakkara. He was out for 48 runs in 67 balls.

The visitors lost their fourth wicket of Thilan Samaraweera at the score of 179 runs. He along with Mahela Jayawardene put 57 runs on the score board. Samaraweera was out for 21 runs off the bowling of Yuvraj.
Indian bowling spearhead Zaheer Khan picked his 21st wicket in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, when Suresh Raina caught Chamara Kapugedera at the team's total of 182 in the 40th over.

Earlier, Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and decided to bat first in the final match of the India vs Sri Lanka 2011.
Indian captain MS Dhoni has made one change in the playing XI. He picked medium pacer Sreesanth in place of injured Ashish Nehra.

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara made four changes in the playing XI. He replaced Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath and Chamara Silva and picked Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chamara Kapugedera.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
ms dhoni
(379 Articles)
virender sehwag
(349 Articles)
yuvraj singh
(399 Articles)
zaheer khan
(294 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.