Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
India vs Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup Final 2011 Live
Both India and Sri Lanka are playing their third Cricket World Cup final. India has played in 1983 World Cup final, 2003 World Cup final, whereas Sri Lanka has played in 1996 and 2007 Cricket World Cup finals.
IN THE grand final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 between two Asian finalists and two hosts India and Sri Lanka, two wicketkeeper captains came to the middle of Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium for the historical toss.

In the first spin of coin, there was some confusion over who's won the toss. In the re-toss Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and decided that he will bat first in the India vs Sri Lanka 2011 final match.

Indian captain MS Dhoni has made one change in the playing XI from the semi final match against arch-rival Pakistan in Mohali. For the final Dhoni picked medium pacer Sreesanth in place of injured Ashish Nehra, who is battling an injury because of a fractured right hand middle finger.
Sreesanth played the inaugural match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 against Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara has made four changes in the playing XI from the semi final match against New Zealand. He is playing with six batsmen and five bowlers. He replaced Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath and Chamara Silva and picked Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chamara Kapugedera. All-rounder Angelo Mathews missed the place due to a quadriceps muscle injury.

India and Sri Lanka, have played 128 matches so far with each other and the record is in favour of India by 67-50 (NR: 11). In World Cup matches Sri Lankans are leading by 4-2. At the venue of the final match of the Cricket World Cup 2011, both teams have won one match each. 

Both India and Sri Lanka won in their maiden final appearance in the Cricket World Cup. India under the leadership of Kapil Dev won the 1983 World Cup Cricket and Sri Lanka won under the captaincy of Arjuna Ranatunga in 1996.

Here are the playing XI of the India vs Sri Lanka ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 final at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium:

India: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (capt, wk), Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Munaf Patel.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (capt/wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chamara Kapugedera.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
gautam gambhir
(360 Articles)
ms dhoni
(379 Articles)
sachin tendulkar
(791 Articles)
virat kohli
(275 Articles)
virender sehwag
(349 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.