Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
India's Fifth Science Conclave to have participation from ASEAN, SAARC, and Africa
The IIIT-A is once again preparing to hold the country's Fifth Science Conclave in Allahabad from December 8, 2012. The new addition to this years' programme is participation from ASEAN, SAARC and African countries. Nobel laureates will also attend the conclave.

Dr M D Tiwari, Director and Chairman of the Organising Committee -2012 said participants from ASEAN, SAARC and Africa would take part for the first time in the conclave. A total of  41 participants from Brueni, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Singapore, Philippines, Thailand would take part in the conclave.

A list of confirmed participants had already been received by the institute from ASEAN Secretariat. Similarly, participants from SAARC and Africa were likely to take part in it. Around two dozen research scholars and teachers from Madgascar, Tanzania, Ghana, Sierra Leoan, Benin, Zimbabwe, Togo Tunisia, Kenya, Sudan; Burundi and Eriteria already took part in three week progamme organized by IIIT-A on the initiative of  Ministry of External Affairs and Science and Technology, Government of India.

“Meanwhile, 1458 science students and teachers belonging to 22 states have been selected under five groups including physics, chemistry, mathematics, engineering and biological science.  As many as 343 candidates from Uttar Pradesh, 262 from Maharashtra , 164- Tamil Nadu, 144- Andhra Pradesh, 107- Gujarat , 46-Rajasthan, 42-West Bengal, 38-Delhi, 37-Karnataka, 34- Puducherry, 34-Uttarakhand , 32-Andaman & Nicobar, 26-Haryana, 25-Jharkhand, 19-Madhya Pradesh , 17-Orissa, 16 from Jammu & Kashmir ,15- Bihar, 12-Kerala, 12- Himachal Pradesh, 11-Punjab, 9- Chhattisgarh, 3-Assam, 2-Goa, 2- Chandigarh, and 1-Nagaland have been selected by Expert Committee for higher education category while 1000 meritous students who passed out their High School examination in year 2012 form UP Board of Education are invited for the INSPIRE programme, a innovative scheme of Department of  Science and Technology,” said Dr Tiwari.

The objectives of the Science Conclave include inspiring, motivating and giving thrust to science education, research and development, diverting at least ten percent of best talents from other disciplines to science stream, developing plans to rejuvenate science education and research, bringing together the Nobel Laureates, young scientists and students in a relaxed and informal atmosphere and encourage meaningful dialogue  amongst themselves.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.