Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ipl 2017
IPL 2015: Kolkata Knight Riders, a team with a killing edge
At present, there are many teams in IPL that can make a mark with their reorganized sides, having many new players of higher potential. Delhi Daredevils is one such example to quote, as they have retained just 11 out of existing 25 players in order to stage a possible comeback. Many teams are apparently looking quite capable of posing challenge to others.

But today's focus is on the defending champions of the Indian Premier League Kolkata Knight Riders, who had snatched their second title by the win over Kings XI Punjab in a thrilling encounter in the final last season. After all they were being headed by none other than Gautam Gambhir, who happens to be one of the finest Indian batsmen. Currently, the team sparkling in golden blue attire is coached by Australian veteran Trevor Bayliss accompanied by the bowling mentor Brett Lee.

To highlight their strength, I just intend to mention that Kolkata is the only team alongside Chennai Super Kings to have won the tournament on more than one occasion. In a bid to fortify their arsenal, during the IPL auctions this year, they have paid a heavy magnitude of Rs. 2.40 crore for an almost unknown Karnataka legspinner Konganda Charamanna Cariappa, who is 5 feet 11 inches tall and bowls with an orthodox round-arm action.

Whereas a leg-break is his stock ball but with his available variations like the googly and the faster ones, he doubles his ability, which all together make it difficult for batsmen to read him. He also has the ability to bowl off-spinners without changing his grip.

They have two reliable big guns, opener Robin Uthappa became the team's highest run-scorer with 660 runs in 16 matches during the last season while mystery spinner Sunil Narine successfully grabbed 21 wickets - only next to Chennai's Mohit Sharma (23) among leading wicket-takers.

Skipper Gautam Gambhir and firebrand batsman Manish Pandey enhance the top-order attack for Kolkata. Their middle-order is equally capable with the presence of Yusuf Pathan and Chris Lynn followed by all-rounders Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan ten Doeschate and Andre Russell.

As far as the variety in their bowling attack is concerned, KKR definitely pose a serious threat to any of their oppositions. South African speed master Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Pat Cummins and Jimmy Neesham build a dangerous seam-bowling attack, along with Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine and Piyush Chawla fortifying their spin-bowling.

After forming a perfect blend of Indian and overseas players, the supporters do believe that the Shah Rukh Khan co-owned KKR has certainly emerged as a force to reckon with. It is a squad having unlimited possibilities. Although in today's world of competitive cricket it is not fair to predict anything for sure, as that particular day of the performance of any team counts a lot, but at the moment, KKR is my personal favorite. Here is the detail of the players.

Players Retained (2015): Gautam Gambhir, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Kuldeep Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Morne Morkel, Patrick Cummins, Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthappa, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav, Veer Pratap Singh, Yusuf Pathan.

Players Bought (2015): KC Cariappa (Rs. 2.40 cr), Jimmy Neesham(Rs. 50 lakh), Brad Hogg (Rs. 50 lakh), Aditya Garhwal (Rs. 25 lakh), Sheldon Jackson(Rs. 15 lakh), Sumit Narwal(Rs. 10 lakh) and Vaibhav Rawal(Rs.10 lakh).

Players Released (2015): Debabrata Das, Sayan Sekhar Mandal, Jacques Kallis.

Squad: Gautam Gambhir(c), Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Kuldeep Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Morne Morkel, Patrick Cummins, Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthappa(wk), Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav, Veer Pratap Singh, Yusuf Pathan, James Neesham, Brad Hogg, Aditya Garhwal, Sumit Narwal, KC Cariappa, Vaibhav Rawal, Sheldon Jackson

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.