Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ipl 2018
IPL 2016 opening ceremony: A star studded glitzy night in Mumbai sets the ball rolling
The opening ceremony of the cash-rich Indian Premier League was held at the National Sports Club of India (NSCI), Worli in Mumbai on Friday evening. The glitzy event which set the ball rolling for the IPL 2016 lasted for 2 hours and 15 minutes.

However the opening ceremony of this year's edition of the IPL was touted by many as much less spectacular in comparison to previous editions. However, Bollywood and cricketing stars still managed to put up a spectacular and entertaining show.

The event saw performances by Bollywood actors Ranveer Singh, Jacqueline Fernandez, Katrina Kaif and rapper Yo Yo Honey Singh. The live performances along with a spectacular light show ensured that the audience remained glued to their seats.

The opening ceremony of IPL 9 was attended by the BBCI top brass, franchise team owners along with the players and the support staff of the eight participant teams. Seated among other guests were Bollywood actress and Kings XI Punjab team owner Preity Zinta and co-owner and industrialist Jay Mehta.

West Indian cricketer Dwayne Bravo dressed in a white blazer and black trousers entertained the crowd with his `Champion dance' rap song. He was soon joined on stage by Bollywood playback singer Ankit Tewari, who shook a leg with the Caribbean cricketer.

However, a major part of the cricketing fraternity was missing from the event barring the ex-cricketers associated with IPL.

Director of the Indian team and ex-cricketer Ravi Shastri invited the eight team captains Zaheer Khan (Delhi Daredevils), David Miller (Kings XI Punjab), Suresh Raina (Gujarat Lions), Gautam Gambhir (Kolkata Knight Riders), Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians), MS Dhoni (Rising Pune Supergiants) and David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad).

Skipper of the defending champions Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma placed the IPL cup onto the podium and then all the eight captains took the oath of fair play while signing the MCC Spirit of Cricket pledge.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.