Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ipl 2018
IPL 7: Opening ceremony to be held in UAE
Indian Premier League's 7th season will kick start from today in UAE, with the opening ceremony to be held today. The matches will be played from tomorrow, april 16th. The IPL's opening ceremony will see performances by bollywood star Shahrukh Khan, Deepika Padukone and dance queen Madhuri Dixit.

Media reports say Shahrukh Khan will act as the host of the evening. According to the sources, this year's IPL opening ceremony could be a less vibrant affair, as the budget for the opening ceremony will be less than Rs 25 crores that was spent on the last year's ceremony. There will be eight teams playing in this season, after the withdrawal of the Pune Warriors India

For the first time IPL is being partially played outside the country as the Indian government has expressed its inability to provide security cover to the matches because of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections in the country.

The tournament will be jointly hosted by India and the United Arab Emirates. The opening 20 matches will be held in the UAE at three different stadiums in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah. The later half of the tournament will be played in India from May 2.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.