Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ipl 2017
IPL play-offs begin from Tuesday May 24
This year, in the IPL, Shah Rukh Khan-owned KKR qualified for the last four of the tournament for the very first time. Three others teams who are in the last four including IPL 2010 finalists CSK,..
AFTER SEVENTY matches and one and half months, the league round of the fourth edition of Indian Premier League ended on Sunday, May 22, with a match that finished as a last-ball thriller between Mumbai Indians vs. Kolkata Knight Riders.

After league rounds, four teams including the Daniel Vettori-led Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the Sachin Tendulkar-led Mumbai Indians (MI) and the Gautam Gambhir-led Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have qualified for the play-offs of the Indian Premier League 2011.

Among the four teams, Kolkata Knight Riders is the only team that has qualified for the final four for the very first time in the history of IPL. In the IPL 2010 too Chennai, Mumbai and Bangalore qualified for the last four. Last year, the fourth semi finalist was Deccan Chargers.

In the league stage, Royal Challengers Bangalore topped the points table with 19 points in hand. Royal Challengers has won nine matches, lost four and one match was abandoned due to rain. Chennai Super Kings has also won nine matches but lost five, was at the second spot in the points table.

Mumbai Indians, who ended the league round with 18 points like Chennai, was placed in the third spot due to poorer run rate compared to defending champion Chennai. This year Kolkata Knight Riders has broken its last three years' jinx for not qualifying in the final four. During the IPL auction in January 2011, Shah Rukh Khan's owned Kolkata Knight Riders bought Gautam Gambhir and Yusuf Pathan at a very high price tag.

Play-offs of the IPL 2011 is going to start from Tuesday May 24 with a game between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings. Here is the schedule of the final four games of the IPL 2011.

Qualifier 1
Tues, May 24
Royal Challengers Bangalore v Chennai Super Kings
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
08:00 PM
Wed, May 25
Mumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
08:00 PM
Qualifier 2
Fri, May 27
Winner Eliminator vs Loser Qualifier 1
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
08:00 PM
Sat, May 28
Winner Qualifier 1 vs Winner Qualifier 2
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
08:00 PM
Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
gautam gambhir
(360 Articles)
(952 Articles)
ms dhoni
(379 Articles)
sachin tendulkar
(791 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.