Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
J&K Assembly Elections: Fourth phase of voting over with 49% turnout; fifth and final phase on December 20
The political fate of 182 candidates including two Chief ministerial candidates Omar Abdullah and Mufti Mohd Sayed have been sealed in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) as the voters defying boycott call by separatists and braving the chilly weather, came out in large number to exercise their franchise in 18 Assembly constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir.

There were 14,73,050 electors including 767471 male and 705559 female voters besides 20 third gender voters in 4th phase of five-phased election on Sunday. Fifth phase of elections in 20 constituencies would be held on December 20.

Over 49 per cent voters exercised their right to franchise in the 4th phase of Assembly Elections across 18 Assembly constituencies of four districts in the Jammu and Kashmir state including Srinagar, Anantnag, Shopian and Samba.

According to official sources, in two Assembly constituencies of Samba district, Samba (SC) recorded 77 per cent and Vijaypur recorded 81.31 per cent voter turnout.

In eight Assembly constituencies of Srinagar district, Hazratbal Assembly constituency recorded 29.36 per cent, Zadibal Assembly constituency 23.64 per cent, Eidgah Assembly constituency 27.79 per cent, Khanyar Assembly constituency 26.12 per cent, Habba Kadal Assembly constituency 21.01 per cent, Amira Kadal assembly constituency 24.81 per cent, Sonwar Assembly constituency 44.17 percent and Batamaloo Assembly constituency recorded 24.34 per cent voter turnout.

While, in six Assembly Constituencies of Anantnag district, Anantnag Assembly constituency recorded 38.67 per cent Dooru Assembly constituency 63.94 per cent Kokernag Assembly constituency 64.90 per cent, Shangus Assembly constituency 67.27 per cent Bijbehara Assembly constituency 53.87 per cent and Pahalgam Assembly constituency recorded 68.53 per cent voter turnout.

Besides, in two Assembly Constituencies of Shopian district, Wachi Assembly constituency recorded 42.66 per cent and Shopian Assembly constituency recorded 52.06 per cent voter turnout.

Eighteen Assembly constituencies of the state that went to polls today were spread over four districts for which as many as 1890 polling stations were set up.

The CEO also gave out that 182 candidates were in the fray for these 18 Assembly constituencies which comprised 14,73,050 electors including 767471 male and 705559 female voters besides 20 third gender voters

Chief Electoral Officer Umang Narula said that web casting was done in 155 Polling Stations while as at 48 polling stations digital and at 82 polling stations video cameras were installed to ensure free, fair and smooth conduct of polls.

Narula said that 18 General Observers, six Expenditure Observers, 03 Police Observers, 02 Awareness Observer besides 384 micro observers and about 8000 poll officials were deployed for the smooth conduct of polls.

He said elaborate arrangements were made to facilitate voters to exercise their right to franchise in a free and fair atmosphere adding that the polling percentage may increase after consolidation of figures.

The first two phases registered more than 70 per cent of voting while the third phase witnessed over 58 per cent polling in the State.

Voting in 20 seats of Jammu region in the fifth and last phase will take place on December 20 while counting would be held on December 23.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.