Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
JKFFA celebrates 117th birth anniversary of Shaheed Udham Singh
Jammu, December 26: To commemorate the 117th birth anniversary of Shaheed Udham Singh, J&K Freedom Fighters' Association (JKFFA) held a function at Dogra Shourya Sthal, Ambphalla, here on Monday under the presidentship of Ved Gandotra.

The participants paid rich tributes to Shaheed Udham Singh.

Speakers threw light on the life and supreme sacrifice of Udham Singh who was born on 26th December, 1899 in Punjab and avenged Jallianwala Bagh massacre by killing Michael O'Dyer in March, 1940.

They said that the real tributes to the martyrs would be eradicating evils prevailing in the society. They exhorted youth to refrain from drugs and intoxicants.

Remembering Shaheed Udham Singh, senior vice president JKFFA, Tej Ram Dogra highlighted his life history and determination to eliminate British General Dyer, who was responsible for the massacre of Jallianwala Bagh, Amritsar.

The speakers said that on the fateful day of Baisakhi, the 13th of April 1919, when the pro-freedom society was holding a rally in Jallianwala Bagh, Amritsar, General Dyer, an officer of the British Empire ordered indiscriminate firing over the innocent, unarmed civilians, killing hundreds of them in one go.

They added that Udham Singh, annoyed with this killing, determined to eliminate General Dyer and killed him at point-blank range in London and was martyred on 31st of July, 1940.

They also stressed upon the youth to shun their self-centered outlook and contribute in the development of the nation.

The prominent people who participated in the function were Rajiv Mahajan (State President Shri Ram Sena), RR Raina (State President Sangram Sena), Prabhat Kapahi, Binny Mahajan, Raj Kumar Tyagi, Brij Mehra among others.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.