Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Justice VK Sharma sworn in as Judge of the Himachal Pradesh High Court
Justice Vinod Kumar Sharma has been sworn-in today as Judge of the High Court of Himachal Pradesh. The Chief Justice Shri Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar administered the oath of Office to Justice V.K. Sharma in a simple, but impressive ceremony held in the Courtroom of the Chief Justice.

Justice V.K. Sharma was initially appointed as the Additional Judge of the High Court of Himachal Pradesh on January 7, 2010. Registrar General A.C. Dogra conducted the proceedings and read out the Warrant of appointment issued by the President of India and the order of the Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

Born on 8 August, 1952, Justice V.K. Sharma received early education at G.G.D.S.D. College, Baijnath and then graduated in Law from Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla. He started legal practice in 1976 before the High Court of Himachal Pradesh at Shimla and District and Sub-Divisional Courts at Dharamshala and Palampur. He remained a counsel of the Northern Railway (1985-1990) and public sector banks and also served as Secretary (1982-83) and President (1989- 1990) of the Bar Association, Palampur, District Kangra.

Justice V.K. Sharma joined Himachal Pradesh Higher Judicial Service on 2nd February, 1991 as Additional District and Sessions Judge. He was designated District and Sessions Judge in April 1995 and held various positions, including that of Registrar General of the High Court of Himachal Pradesh. During this period, he also worked in varied capacities, including Presiding Officer, Himachal Pradesh Industrial Tribunal-cum-Labour Court; Member Secretary, Himachal Pradesh State Legal Services Authority; District and Sessions Judge (Forest); President, District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, Shimla, etc.

Judges of High Court Justices D.D. Sud, Sanjay Karol, Kuldip Singh, Rajiv Sharma  and D.C. Chaudhary were present on the prestigious occasion. Retired High Court Judges Shri V.K. Bhatnagar and Shri Surinder Singh, Advocate General and Chairman of Bar Council Sharwan Dogra, Assistant Solicitor General of India Sandeep Sharma, Registrars of High Court Sushil Kukreja, Sureshwar Thakur, K.C. Chandel and Arvind Malhotra, Vice Chancellor of H.P. University Sh. A.D.N. Bajpai and Mayor of Shimla Municipal Corporation, Sanjay Chauhan were among the prominent personalities present on the occasion.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.