Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Karmaveer Puraskaar 2008 presented
The third Karamveer Puraskar, the national awards for social justice and citizen action were presented at Rajghat. November 26, is celebrated as the National Social Justice and Citizen Action Day to rekindle the spirit of our constitutional pledge

THE MUMBAI-based dedicated social activist and founder-president of Silver Inning Foundation, Sailesh Mishra, received the prestigious Karamveer Puraskar, a national award for social justice and citizen action, for his commendable promotion of the cause of the elderly in India.

The third Karamveer Puraskar, the national awards for social justice and citizen action were presented at Satyagraha Mandap, Gandhi Darshan, Rajghat. November 26, of every year is celebrated as the National Social Justice and Citizen Action Day since 1949, to rekindle the spirit of our constitutional pledge.

Speaking on the occasion, Jeroninio Almeida, founder and chief volunteer, iCONGO said, "In a country of almost 1.2 billion Indians, we have many awards for movie stars and other achievers launched by tobacco, FMCG, media and beverage brands as marketing campaigns but we are yet to recognise the real-life unsung heroes who believe that it is better to light a candle than curse the darkness by leading a change.” He further added, "Karmaveer Puraskaar is given to change dreamers and doers who practise philanthropy for social justice."

Karamveer Puraskar has been instituted by the iCONGO-Indian Confederation of NGOs, representatives of people sector and social justice through a citizen action movement in India. This is to recognise individuals who have been pivotal in leading a change beyond their business by being committed at individual levels to work on social issues. The awards are given to individuals for their contribution to social justice and citizen action; they are chosen from various sectors and this year the focus is on ’people from government, businesses and media’.

The short-listing of the screened entries is carried out by an expert panel from iCONGO comprised of representatives from across areas of work and past awardees based on a process set and created by Mercer and Grant Thornton. Mercer and Grant Thornton are international audit firms.

The recipients of the Karmaveer Puraskaar 2008, include:

Lifetime Achievement Karmaveer Puraskaar - Maj Gen Raghubir Singh Pannu

Global Indian Karmveer Puraskaar – Dr Venkat Pullla and Dr Sailesh Rao

Real Wealth Creators for the Communities - Rajendra Joshi and Vipin Sharma

Lifelong Fight for Social Justice through Citizen Action - Pamela Gale Malhotra

Government Citizen Karmveer Puraskaar - Syeda Hameed

Media Citizen Karmaveer Puraskaar

Print Media - Umesh Anand and Rita Anand
Film maker, mainstream - Pritish Nandy
Filmmaker on contemporary issues - Bhavna Talwar
Documentary film maker - Nitin Das and Akanksha Joshi
Short film maker –Swati D’Souza, Sehej Mantri, Aalap Deboor and Sheetal Bhan
Author - Vandana Shah
Literary Consultant - Mita kapur

Corporate Citizen Karmaveer Puraskaar

Corporate Citizens for Holistic CSR Initiatives – CEO-Ajay Bijli, CSR Head- Deepa Menon
Corporate Citizens for Holistic Media Initiatives- Chairman- Indu Jain, Director- Pooran Pandey
Corporate CEO’s Foundation – Ashok Kurien
Corporate Executive Citizen - Meera Sanyal
Civil Society Karmaveer Puraskaar

Disability - Divya Arora
HIV – Dr Ashok Rau
Community Welfare - TK Mathew
Fund raising - Surat Sandhu
Education, Health and Empowerment - Shobha Murthy
Women Empowerment and Child labour - Nusrat Naqvi
Animal Welfare and Environment - Nigel Otter
Cancer - Harmala Gupta
Care for the elderly - Sailesh Mishra
Social Communications and Campaign Strategist - Meenakshi Madhwani
Social Venture Mentoring - Varun Sahni
Social Entrepreneurship/Transformation - Rejendra Misra
Student Citizen Karmaveer Puraskaar - Inir Pinheiro

Artistes 4 Change Karmaveer Puraskaar

Dance - Geeta Chandran
Music – Bobby Cash, Gautam Ghosh and Ritika Sahni
Theatre - Lushin Dubey and Arvind Gaur
Mainstream Actress– Kajol
Young Social Entrepreneur Citizen - Meghna Agrawal and Madhusudan Agrawal
Professional Citizen Karmaveer Puraskaar - Madhu Bhatnagar and Shrenik Rao
Kids 4 Change – Aradhna Chhachhi and Diwakar
Young Creative Citizen - Ambar Prakash

November 26, is the day the citizens of India adopted the constitutional pledge in 1949 and is now promoted by iCONGO as the National People’s Social Justice and Action Day. The next year will be the 60th year of adoption of the pledge and on the occasion, iCONGO would be launching a mammoth signature campaign to address an appeal to the President, Prime Minister and all citizens serving in the government to announce this day as the National Social Justice and Citizen Action Day.

The Karmaveer Puraskaar is given out at the Right Every Wrong Conclave every year; it is a national forum for social justice and citizen action. Every year, eminent thought leaders and citizens concerned with constructive opinions from India and overseas gather to discuss social issues like poverty and marginalisation, corporate social responsibility, responsible media, climate change, child rights, animal rights and other social justice issues and understand the need for a citizen movement to come together as one and pledge to try and right every wrong. This year, the theme is about Citizen Action for Electoral Reforms.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.