Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Karnataka Assembly poll results 2018 LIVE: Counting of vote begins amidst exit polls predicting a hung assembly
Counting of votes began at 8 am on Tuesday for 222 of the 224 Assembly seats in Karnataka. While polling was held on May 12 for 222 seats, elections will take place in RR Nagar and Jayanagar constituencies on May 28. Here are the final results:

Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 Live Results (222/224)

 Lead    Won   Party    Lead      Won    Party     Lead   Won  Party   Lead  Won 

 0  104 INC 0  78 JD(S)  0  38 Others   0  2

While election in Bengaluru's RR Nagar constituency was postponed following the seizure of some 9,000 fake voter ID cards, in the Jayanagar constituency of the city election was deferred following the demise of BJP candidate and sitting MLA Vijay Kumar.

The first hour will see postal ballots being opened followed by counting of votes of EVMs. Although the Congress started with an early lead on 32 seats, the BJP soon caught up by maintaining a lead on 28 seats. The JD(S) which is expected to play the role of the kingmaker in case of a hung Assembly was ahead on 13 seats as per early trends.

However, as the counting progressed beyond the first hour, the BJP began consolidating itself by maintaining a steady lead on 74 seats as opposed to 66 of the Congress, emerging as the largest party.

The fate of over 2,600 candidates including 200 women will be decided by today evening when the final results are declared.

The Karnataka Assembly elections 2018 are a three-way contest between the incumbent Siddaramaiah-led ruling Congress government and the BJP which has projected Yeddyurappa as the CM candidate.

A win for the BJP in these elections will be seen as an endorsement of brand Modi and his chief poll strategist Amit Shah, who both campaigned strenuously in the run up the the elections.

Live updates:

12:10 pm: BJP has performed exceedingly well in Coastal Karnataka and the Malnad region, where it had lost seats in the last elections in 2013. 

11:35 am: This win belongs to Narendra Modi's leadership, says Ravi Shankar Prasad.

11:30 am: Results would have been different with a JD(S)-Congress alliance, tweets Mamata Banerjee.

11:00 am: CM Siddaramaiah loses from Chamundeshwari.

10:25 am: Congress' Lingayat card backfires. BJP leads in 29 Lingayat dominated constituencies while the Congress only in 9 followed by the JD(S) in 6. 

10:15 am: Chief Minister Siddaramaiah trailing in Chamundeshwari by 12,000 votes.

10:10 am: BJP reaches 110, just in touching distance of forming the government on its own.

10:00 am: Prakash Javadekar leaves for Bengaluru after meeting Amit Shah.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.