Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Karnataka Assembly polls: BJP releases its first list of 72 candidates
The battle for Karnataka has begun officially with the BJP on Sunday releasing its first list of candidates.

Seventy two people have been named in this list who will be contesting in the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections 2018. Karnataka will go to polls on 12th May and the results shall be declared on 15th May. The list comes a day after Congress President Rahul Gandhi concluded his visit to Karnataka.  

"First list of 72 BJP candidates for ensuing general election to the legislative assembly of Karnataka 2018 finalised by BJP Central Election Committee. We wish them the very best," BJP wrote on its official twitter account attaching along with the tweet the pictures of the list. 

Surprisingly of the 72 seats for which the names have been declared, only 3 are female. The three candidates are Sashikala Jolle (Nippani), Roopali Naik (Karwar), and Poornima Srinivas (Hiriyur). 

The list was released by senior leader JP Nadda after party's top brass met last night to decide on the candidate list. The list was finalised by the party's central election committee. BJP leaders including Narendra Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah and Arun Jaitley are members of the committee. 

Karnataka is scheduled to go for Assembly election in May this year. The state has 224 seats. BJP's chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa has been named in the list and will be contesting from Shikaripura. Many other BJP strong leaders such as KS Eshwarappa (Shivamogga), Basavaraj Bommai (Shiggaon) and B Sriramulu (Molakalmuru) have also been named in the list.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.