Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ipl 2018
Kolkata Knight Riders wins IPL 2014 title
Kolkata Knight Riders deservedly won the IPL 2014 title, after putting up an impressive performance in the latter half of the tournament, where they won nine matches in a row including the finals. They defeated one of the favourites, Kings XI Punjab in an high scoring affair, which witnessed some brilliant batsmanship.
Having been put into bat by Gautam Gambhir, Punjab put up a huge score of 199 runs in their 20 overs. None of their big players fired, namely Sehwag, Miller, Maxwell and Bailey, but it was two Indian batsmen, Vohra and Saha, who tore apart the KKR bowlers. The latter played an innings of his life scoring 115 runs of just 55 balls and the former comprehended the player well with 67 runs to his name.

Going into the break, Punjab had one hand in the trophy for the target was a huge one to chase. Add to it, the pressure of the finals would only make the chase doubly difficult. But, as the second innings turned out, pressure got the better out of the KKR batsmen.

KKR had pinned their hopes on their opening pair of Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa, but with Robin and Gambhir falling cheaply, it was left for the young Manish Pandey and experienced Yusuf Pathan to showcase their big hitting skills and take the IPL trophy to Kolkata, and how well did they bat to snatch the game away from Punjab's hand.

Manish Pandey played a great innings scoring 94 runs in just 50 balls, while Pathan scored 36 from 22. These batsmen hit the Punjab bowlers all over the park. It was only A Patel, who put up a brave fight giving very few runs. With this performance by Kolkata's batsmen, Saha's century went in vain.

This is KKR's second IPL victory, as they won the 2012 edition as well, while Punjab is yet to lift aloft the IPL title.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.