Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
LIVE: By-election results 2018 of 4 Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats
Counting of votes began on Thursday for the by-elections that were held in four Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly constituencies on May 28.
According to analysts, the by-poll result of Uttar Pradesh's Kairana constituency is particularly significant as it would set the tone for the 2019 general elections. In Kairana, opposition parties had unitedly fielded a common candidate against the BJP in hope of repeating the success achieved in the Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-elections held in March.

Initial trends coming in suggest that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in the two seats of Maharashtra – Bhandara-Gondia and Palghar.

However, things aren't looking good for the BJP in the Kairana Lok Sabha constituency as Tabassum Hasan of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD, who is backed by the Congress, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) continues to lead by over 20,000 votes.

By-elections were necessitated in Kairana as the seat had fallen vacant after the death of BJP leader and sitting MP Hukum Singh in February. The BJP fielded Hukum Singh's daughter Mriganka Singh from the seat.

LIVE updates:

2.20 pm: The BJP has also retained its Tharali Assembly seat in the state of Uttarakhand. Munni Devi Shah of the BJP defeated Congress' Jeetram by more than 1,900 votes.

2.11 pm: BJP has managed to retain the Palghar Lok Sabha seat. BJP candidate Rajendra Gavit won by defeating Shiv Sena's Shrinivas Wanaga.

2.04 pm: In Punjab Congress candidate Hardev Singh Ladi has won the Shahkot Assembly by-election defeating SAD's Naib Singh Kohar.

2.00 pm: In UP's Kairana after 21 rounds of counting RLD candidate Tabassum Hasan has extended her lead by almost 50,000 votes from her BJP rival Mriganka Singh. Three more rounds of counting are left.

1.05 pm: Samajwadi Party wins Noorpur. Naeemul Hasan of the SP defeated his nearest rival BJP's Avnish Singh by a margin of 10,000 votes.

1.00 pm: N Muniratna of the Congress has won the Rajarajeshwari Nagar seat in Karnataka. He defeated BJP's Tulsi Muniraju Gowda by a margin of 41,162 votes.

12.50 pm: JMM candidate Seema Devi Mahto has won Jharkhand's Silli Assembly seat with a margin of 13,500 votes.

12.45 pm: Ruling CPI(M)-led LDF candidate Saji Cheriyan wins from Kerala's Chengannur Assembly seat by a margin of 20,956 votes.

12.30 pm: RJD wins Bihar's Jokihat Assembly seat by a margin of 76,002 seats.

12.15 pm: Tabassum Hasan all set to hand over defeat to the BJP in Kairana.

12.10 pm: Samajwadi Party leading by 10,550 votes in Noorpur Assembly constituency over the BJP.

11.50 am: JMM leader Babita Devi overtakes her BJP rival Madhavlal Singh by a margin of 9,000 votes.

11.45 am: BJP leading by over 18,000 votes over Shiv Sena in the Palghar Lok Sabha constituency.

11.40 am: RLD's Tabassum Hasan leading by almost 40,000 over her BJP rival Mriganka Singh in Kairana after 12 rounds of countuing.

11.30 am: RJD candidate Shahnawaz Alam leading over his nearest JD(U) candidate Murshid Alam by 19,900 votes in Jokihat Bihar Assembly seat.

11.10 am: BJP trails in 3 our of 4 Lok Sabha seats – UP's Kairana; and Maharashtra's Palghar and Bhandara-Gondia.

11.00 am: SP's Naimul Hasan leading by over 39,000 votes in UP's Noorpur Assembly constituency.

10.25 am: NCP-Congress candidate Madhukar Kukde leading by 3500 in Maharashtra's Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha seat.

10.15 am: NCP establishes lead in Maharashtra's Bhandara-Gondia by 3100 votes, as reported by ANI.

10.10 am: BJP leading after round 5 in Palghar.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.