Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Loks Sabha's 7th phase: Big guns in fray today
Polling is taking place in 89 Lok Sabha constituencies, spread over seven states and two union territories in the 7th phase of general elections today.

These includes all 26 seats in Gujarat, all 13 in Punjab, 17 seats in Andhra Pradesh (Telangana), 14 in Uttar Pradesh, 9 in West Bengal and 7 in Bihar and one each in Jammu and Kashmir and union territories of Dadraand Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Some of the prominent BJP candidates whose fates will be sealed today in the EVM are PM candidate Narendra Modi, LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitly, Murli Manohar Joshi and Uma Bharati. Also the prominent Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi, Madhusudan Mistry, Captain Amrinder Singh and Shiv Prakash jiswal's fate will be decided today.

In Uttar Pradesh, the hot seats are Lucknow, where BJP President Rajnath Singh is challenged by the Congress leader Rita Bahuguna Joshi, SP minister Abhishek Mishra, and AAP leader Jaaved Jaferi. In Kanpur, Union Coal minister Sriprakash Jaiswal is facing competition from BJP veteran MM Joshi. In Jhansi, Pradeep Jain Aditya is challenged by BJP's Uma Bharti and BSP's debutent Anuradha Sharma.

A total of 13.83 crore people will vote in the 7th phase of Lok Sabha polls. BSP Supremo Mayawati, BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, Congress leader Sriprakash Jaiswal and Narendra Modi's mother cast their votes in the morning. The result of the general elections will be announced on 16 May.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.