Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Maharashtra Panchayat election results - Pride goes before the fall
The Holy Bible says: Pride goes before the fall.
"A proud man is always looking down on things and people; and, of course, as long as you're looking down, you can't see something that's above you."

Someone who was having a haircut asked the patient barber - "How many hairs are there at my crown?" The Barber said, "Wait for a little while and all would be there in your lap."

And it has just happened to BJP as the latest Panchayat results declared by State Election Commission. Congress registered an impressive victory, leading the seat tally by winning 21 seats and the Shiv Sena and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) bagged 20 seats each in the election to the six Nagar panchayats in Maharashtra…and the poor last BJP won five seats.

Election for 102 seats in these bodies was held on Sunday and the results were declared on Monday. It could be happy times here again for former Maharashtra Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Narayan Rane, who had lost the 2014 Assembly polls and 2015 Bandra Assembly bypoll.

The Congress has managed to win the Kudal Nagar panchayats in coastal Konkan, Rane's home turf. It is an impressive win of nine seats in the 17-seat body by restricting BJP to just one seat. Shiv Sena stood second by winning six seats. Sena and BJP had put their weight around by senior leaders, including Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu, in the campaign. In Lohara Nagar Panchayat in Osmanabad, Shiv Sena won highest seats (9), followed by NCP (4) and Congress (3) while BJP could not win even a single seat. Mohol and Madha Nagar panchayats in Solapur saw Shiv Sena and NCP faring better over BJP.

After the state government formed 138 new Nagar panchayats in 2014 by bifurcating urban areas at taluka headquarters, this was the second phase of election for 102 seats after the first round of 345 seats in 19 Nagar panchayats in January this year.

NCP won eight seats in Lonand Nagar panchayat in Satara followed by Congress which won six seats while BJP was restricted to just two of total 17 seats.

There is alarm signal for RSS/BJP here. The Pyrrhic victories can't be sustained with empty slogans and narcissistic selfies.

Editorial NOTE: This article is categorized under Opinion Section. The views expressed in this article are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of In case you have a opposing view, please click here to share the same in the comments section.
Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.