Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Medak Lok Sabha poll to witness triangular contest in TRS strong hold
The Medak Lok Sabha constituency, for which by-election is scheduled to be held on September 13, is all set to witness triangular contest among candidates of TRS, Congress and BJP. All the candidates of these parties filed nominations on the last day, August 27, as their names were cleared by the respective parties at last minute.

BJP in a surprising move has named Congress district committee president and former MLA Toorpu Jayaprakash Reddy alias Jagga Reddy, after he was denied ticket by the Congress party. The by-poll is necessitated after Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, who had won both Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, resigned after he became CM of the state.

While TRS fielded a transport businessman Kotha Prabhakar Reddy, Congress nominated former minister Sunitha Lakshma Reddy as its candidate. Prabhakar Reddy, is new to the politics although he owns a transport company. He has been active in TRS since few years and expected to contest in the recent assembly elections.

Due to adjustments, party president K Chandrasekhar Rao persuaded him to keep out from the contest with a assurance to give him chance at later stage. Though TNGOs president Devi Prasad has emerged as strong contender, Chief Minister Rao persuaded him with a promise to send him to legislative council next time.

After so much of deliberations the Congress party high command has selected former minister Sunitha Lakshma Reddy as its candidate to contest from Medak Lok Sabha by-election. Though many party senior leaders including former union minister of state Sarve Satyanarayana and district Congress President Jagga Reddy competed to get party seat, after hectic deliberations by AICC general secretary and state party incharge Digvijay Singh Sunitha Lakshma Reddy name was finalized.

Her clean track record and popularity as three-time MLA, besides unanimity among all party leaders on her name favoured the party to move in her favour.

Two-time MLA Jagga Reddy is a formidable political activist. He had won as TRS candidate in 2004 and as Congress candidate in 2009, but defeated in 2014 elections. Only recently he was appointed as district Congress party president. Incidentally he started his political career in BJP and also elected as municipal councillor. 

But to take active part in separate Telangana agitation, he had left the party along with former union minister A Narendra and later joined TRS. The BJP picked him among three candidates including Anji Reddy and Kasani Gnaneshwar.

For chief minister Rao it is prestigious to win the poll, as the TRS has been winning the seat since 2004 and this was vacated by him. Moreover, Medak is his native district and his nephew and irrigation minister T Harish Rao also electing to Assembly from this district. In view of TRS dominance in Medak district and this happens to be the first election after formation of the TRS government in the newly formed state, the party is not taking no chance.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.