Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Narendra Modi takes oath as 15th Prime Minister of India
BJP's leader Narendra Modi has taken the oath as the nation's 15th Prime Minister. The President Pranab Mukherjee administered the oath to Narendra Modi and his council of ministers. BJP-led NDA has got huge majority in the 16th Lok Sabha elections.

Along with Modi, his council of  Cabinet ministers namely Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, Venkaiyah Naidu, D. Sadanand Gowda, Uma Bharti, Nazma Heptullah, Gopinath Munde, Ram Vilas Paswan, Kalraj Mishra took oath of the office.

The others who took oath as the Cabinet ministers are Menaka Gandhi, Anant Kumar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ashok Gajpati Raju, Anant Gangaram Geete, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Narendra Singh Tomar, Jual Oram, Radha  Mohan Singh, Thawar Chandra Gehlot, Smriti Irani, Dr. Harshwardhan. 

Former Army chief VK Singh took oath as state minister with independent charge. The others who took oath as state minister with independent charge are Gurgaon MP Rao Indrajit Singh, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Shripad Naik, Dharmendra Pradhan, Sarbananda Sonwal, Prakash Javdekar, Piyush Goel, Dr. Jitendra Singh, Nirmala Sitaraman. 

The leaders who took oath as state ministers are GM Siddheswara, Manoj Sinha MP from eastern UP's Ghazipur district, Nihal Chandra, Upendra Kushwaha (Lok Samta Party), P. Radhakrishnan, Kiren Rijiju, KP Gujjar, Dr. Sanjiv Kumar Waliyan, Mansukhbhai Basawa, Rao Saheb Danve, Vishnu Deo Sai, Sudarshan Bhagat.

BJP had fought the Lok Sabha elections under the leadership of Modi. Modi himself fought the elections from two seats namely Vadodara and Varanasi. Modi emerged as victorious from both the seats with a huge vote margin. In Varanasi he defeated AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal with a huge margin. According to sources, Modi will vacate the Vadodara seat and will retain Varanasi.

BJP on its own has got 282 Lok Sabha seats, well ahead the majority figure of 272 seats. The National Democratic Alliance has got 335 seats.

Modi took the oath of the office in the presence of around 4000 guests that includes head of the states from seven SAARC states i.e. Pakistan, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bangladesh.

Modi's invitation to Nawaz Sharif to be a guest in this oath ceremony was seen as a very bold move by the experts of international relations. The leaders in both the countries are expecting that this move by the Modi and acceptance of the invitation by Nawaz Sharif may start an era of new relationship between both the countries.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.