Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
New Depot to house more Delhi Transit Buses
The Minister of Transport, GNCTD, Ramakant Goswami inaugurated Okhla-IV bus depot on 24 September 2013. He also flagged off Delhi Transit buses on routes 500, 47A and 717A that come under the clusters 3, 4, and 5.

DIMTS as the Integrated Mechanism will monitor the operation of the buses under this cluster on behalf of Government of Delhi. AB Grains Private Limited is the government’s concessionaire for these clusters that will operate the fleet of the buses and drivers.

Okhla-IV bus depot has the capacity to park 80 buses. With the introduction of the three new routes, passengers from south Delhi will now be able to avail of the services of the orange coloured Delhi Transit buses (cluster buses).

Route no. 717A will connect Badarpur border to Kapasahera border via Tughlakabad Village, Ambedkar Nagar Terminal, Lado Sarai, Vasant Kunj (A Block), Kishangarh, Mahipalpur, Shiv Murti and Rajokri Village crossing.

Route no. 500 will connect Saket Terminal to Paharganj police station, via Saket A-block Market, Khel Gaon/Shahpur Jat, AIIMS, Safdarjung Airport, Udyog Bhawan, Krishi Bhawan, Palika Kendra and New Delhi Railway Station Gate No.-I.

Route no. 47Awill start at CWS-II/Tehkhand Depot via Govindpuri Metro Station,Sri Niwas Puri Depot, Lajpat Nagar, Jawahar Lal Nehru Stadium, Lodhi Colony, Shahjahan Road (UPSC), Krishi Bhawan, Talkatora Road, Shankar Road, West Patel Nagar,  and end at Inderpuri.

The total number of cluster buses operating on these routes is 36 taking the total fleet of Delhi Transit buses to 694. The total number routes currently operational including these new routes is 43. In the coming days cluster bus will also start operation on routes 540 and 548, under the same clusters.

Buses of Clusters 3, 4 and 5 are semi-low floor and equipped with GPS, internal audio-visual announcement of approaching bus stops and electronic ticketing machines. As on all Delhi Transit buses, the route and destination of each bus will be displayed externally on three electronic boards on the front, rear and on the left hand side of the bus respectively.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.