Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
New Year's Day differs from culture to culture in India
In the West and now accepted worldwide, December 31, the final day of the Gregorian year, and the day is the New Year Eve, and the next day is the New Year's Day.

The New Year Eve is a separate observance from the observance of New Year's Day. In modern Western practice, New Year Eve is celebrated with parties and social gatherings spanning the transition of the year at midnight.

Celebrating the dawn of a new year has been a tradition for over 4,000 years but it varied from culture to culture.  The New Year’s Day is an event that happens when a culture or a community celebrates the end of one year and the beginning of the next year. 

In India, Nava (New) Varsha (Year) is celebrated various regions in March-April and different cultures have their own ways of celebrating it.

•             Hindus celebrate the New Year in early spring, but the Gujarati farming community celebrates the New Year after Diwali to mark the beginning of a new fiscal year.

•             Hola Mohalla, New Year's Day in the Sikh Nanakshahi calendar is on 14 March.

•             In the Saka Calendar (Balinese-Javanese Calendar) the celebration of New Year falls on 30rd of March in this year

•             The Telagu New Year generally falls in the months of March or April. The people celebrate the advent of Lunar Year this day. The first month is Chaitra month.

•             Kashmiri Calendar, Navreh or New Year is celebrated in March.

•             Sindhi festival of Cheti Chand is celebrated on the same day as Gudy Pawda in Maharastra to mark the celebration of the Sindhi New Year.

•             The Punjabi New Year or Vaisakhi is celebrated on 13 April as a harvest festival.

•             The Bengali New Year Pohela Baisakh is celebrated on 14 or 15 April.

•             Tamil New Year and Vishu are celebrated on the same day respectively in the Southern Indian states on 13 or 14 April.

•             The Guajarati New Year is usually celebrated the day after the festival of Diwali, which occurs in mid-fall - either October or November and so do the Jains.

However, globally, it was the Romans who eventually, New Year's to January 1 which became universal in the west. Earlier, in the west also, different cultures celebrated the New Year’s Day on different dates.


Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.