Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Odisha: Cuttack and Baripada urban local bodies' elections today
People of Cuttack in Odisha are voting for Cuttack Municipality Corporation today. CMC has 59 wards, 422 booths and 3.94 lakh voters. In 2009 elections, BJD won the CMC winning 33 seats of existing 54 seats at that time. Five seats have increased in this election.

Pyari Mohan Mahapatra’s Odisha Jana Mancha is contesting the elections for the first time after he was expelled from BJD two years back due to coup attempt to topple Navin Patnaik from Chief Minister's post.

Similarly Soumya Ranjan Patnaik’s ‘Aama Odisha’ party is too contesting in this election. Soumya Patnaik a senior Congress leader who was expelled from Congress party due to internal party politics and formed a new political party called ‘Aama Odisha’.

However general public is speculating that this is a fight between BJP and independent candidates considering earlier civic polls where the Congress and BJP performed very poorly limiting to single digits where as number of winning independent candidates listed second to BJD in tally.

Baripada, the northern Odisha town, also goes to vote for its Municipality. This municipality has 28 wards, 78 booths and 68854 voters.

Terms of both Cuttack Municipal Corporation and Baripada Municipality ends on 12th February 2014. The mayor of CMC and Chairman of Baripada Municipality will be elected on 13th February 2014 where as deputies in respective civic body’s will be elected on March 1st.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.