Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Pharmaceutical leadership Summit 09
Industry Stalwarts honoured with pharma leadership awards 09, Malvinder Mohan Singh, Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, Samprada Singh, Anju Gupta Kaudanya, Dilip Surana, CP Bothra and RC Bhagat among awardees
THE "PHARMACEUTICAL Leadership Summit 2009 with the timely theme of “Destination India – Challenges and Opportunities,” saw 40 powerful speakers and 300 stalwarts from the pharmaceutical Industry in addition to high ranking bureaucrats and trade professionals deliberate on many crucial topics of significance to the industry. The summit was held last week in Mumbai.

The summit was inaugurated by AB Ramteke, Dy Drug Controller, Government of India, Ministry of Health and Family Affairs and Dr Dhanraj Kamatkar, Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Government of Maharashtra. Shri Chanchalapati Das, Vice – Chairman of Akshaya Patra was specially invited by the organiser to address the audience on Akshaya Patra’s mission and objectives. Das stressed that Akshaya Patra will cross 5 Million mark by the end of 2020.

Dr Kamatkar and Ramteke urged the industry to maintain the highest quality standards in manufacturing and a series of debate on Marketing, Clinical Trials, Drug discovery were deliberated.

The summit included eminent speakers as mentioned below:

  • Kewal Handa, Managing Director, Pfizer Ltd.
  • Narayan Gad, Chief Executive – Formulations, Panacea Biotec Ltd
  • Ajit Singh, Chairman, ACG World WidE
  • Huzaifa Khorakiwala, Executive Director, Wockhardt Ltd and CEO Wockhardt Foundation.
  • Ranjit Shahani, Vice Chairman and Managing Director, Novartis India Limited
  • Ramesh L Adige, President, Corporate Affairs and Global, Corporate Communications, Ranbaxy Ltd.
  • Pravin Iyer, Global Chief Financial Officer, Medreich Group
  • Venkat Jasti, Managing Director, Suven Life Sciences Ltd.
  • Dr Bansi Lal, President (R&D) and Executive Director, Calyx Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
  • Dr Suresh Jadhav, Executive Director, Serum Institute of India Ltd
  • Anil Kumar Jain, Vice-President (Operations), Aurobindo Pharma Ltd.
  • Dr PM Naik, Project Director, Zydus Cadila Ltd
  • Deepak Naik, Managing Director, Eisai Pharmaceuticals Pvt Ltd,
  • Kaushik Desai, Director and CEO, Global Pharmatech
  • VS Reddy, Managing Director, British Biologicals
  • JAS Giri, Chairman, Sangfroid Industries Ltd
  • JPN Singh, Director, Galpha Labs Ltd.

One unique aspect of the summit was that it was held in aid of Akshaya Patra, the world’s largest run school meal program which is feeding around one million school children everyday across India. Recently even President-Elect Obama had also commended the organisation for the yeomen service it is doing by providing humanity by feeding poor school children across India.

The Summit is being organised in association with Industry’s leading associations like OPPI, IDMA, PHARMEXCIL and IPA.

The summit also saw the felicitation of some of the stalwarts and achievers who have made much difference to the Industry and have contributed tremendously to its growth.


  • VS Reddy, Managing Director, British Biologicals. (India’s most Admired Neutraceutical Company)
  • Anju Gupta Kaudanya, Managing Director VHB Medi Sciences Limited (Most technically and scientifically advanced Pharmaceutical Manufacturing unit of the year).
  • SK Singh, Managing Director, Cachet Pharmaceuticals Pvt. Ltd (Emerging Company of the year Award)
  • Dilip Surana, Managing Director, Microlabs Ltd. (Company of the Year).
  • Suresh Kare, Chairman, Indoco Remedies Ltd. (Life Time Achievement Award).
  • RC Bhagat, Chairman, VHB Life Sciences Ltd. (Lifetime Achievement Award).
  • Samprada Singh, Chairman, Alkem Labs Ltd. (Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Manohar Kothari, Managing Director, Indo German Pharma Equip Pvt Ltd. (Life Time Achievement Award)
  • Dr Himadri Sen, President, R&D, Ranbaxy Ltd (Excellence in “NDDS”& Generics)
  • Ajit Singh, Chairman and Jasjit Singh, MD, ACG World Wide (Lifetime Achievement Award).
  • Jagdish Saxena, Chairman and MD, Elder Pharmaceuticals Ltd (Lifetime Achievement Award).
  • Malvinder Mohan Singh,Chairman,MD and CEO,Ranbaxy Ltd (Dynamic Enterpreneur of the year)
  • Kaushik Desai ,Director& CEO Global Pharmatech (Excellence in Pharma Profession)
  • Dr PM Naik, Project Director, Zydus Cadila Ltd (Excellence in Pharma Profession)
  • Dr Desh Bandhu Gupta, Chairman, Lupin Ltd (Lifetime Achievement Award).
  • CP Bothra, Managing Director, Medreich Group (India’s Most trusted Export Company of the year)
  • NK Singh, CMD, Galpha Labs Ltd. (India’s Fastest growing Pharmaceutical Company 09)
  • Anju Gupta Kaudanya, Managing Director VHB Medi Sciences Limited (India’s Yongest MD and CEO)
  • AB Kotwal, President and CEO Machinefabrik (Life Time Achievement Award)

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
(36 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.