Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Champions League T20
Preview - Champions League T20 Qualifier: Stallions vs Aces
Sialkot Stallions and Auckland Aces, domestic T20 champions of Pakistan and New Zealand respectively are going to be at loggerheads in the ongoing Champions League T20 later today.

THE T20 Champions League is scheduled to start from 13 October 2012 in South Africa. Eight teams have already made it to the main round of the championship, but still, two slots are yet to be filled in to make it a 10-team competition. Six teams - Yorkshire, Uva Next, Hampshire, Trinidad and Tobago, Sialkot Stallions and Auckland Aces are scheduled to fight it out starting today, in the qualifiers to make it to the main stage.

Two teams, Sialkot Stallions from Pakistan and Auckland Aces are scheduled to play one another later today at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg for the second qualifier. Both these teams are strong favourites to reach the main rounds, as they are the champions of the respective T20 domestic competitions, held in their own backyard.

There are some big names that are going to participate in the match. For the Stallions, their skipper, Shoaib Malik, Imran Nazir and the young talented left arm spinner, Raza Hasan are the stars for the mega event. If Imran Nazir gets the team to a flyer, it would make life difficult for the Auckland team, which also boasts of some good players such as Martin Guptill and Lou Vincent. In this event, there is a certain limit as to the number of foreign players that can represent one team. For Auckland, it is going to be one of the well known T20 players, Azhar Mahmood who could play a vital role with both the bat and the ball.

The Champions League T20 standard stands next to none, as only the best teams of various cricket playing nations find a way into the competition. As of now, among the 8 existing teams, four are from India, two from Australia and two from the host nation, South Africa. Irrespective of which ever team makes up for the 9th and the 10th team, the quality of cricket is going to be of topmost quality.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.