Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Punjab State Election Commission not yet recognized Fazilka and Pathankot as districts
The Punjab State Election Commission has not yet recognized Fazilka and Pathankot as districts as is evident from the letter issued by the Election Tribunal of Election Commission on July 13, 2013 under No.SIC-SA5-2-13/6593.

It may be mentioned here that Fazilka was given the status of districts on July 27, 2011 after a long struggle by the citizens and sitting on indefinite hunger strike by Ch.Surjit Kumar Jyani, MLA and Cabinet Minister, Punjab and simultaneously Pathankot was also declared as district.

In the newly constituted districts, DC, SSP and other district level officers have also been appointed apart from the ministerial staff and infrastructure.   Not only this, Additional Sessions Courts have also come up and foundation stone has also been laid down for the new judicial complex on December 8, 2012 by the present Chief Justice and 16 judges.  But despite all these arrangements, the Election Commissioner has not accepted so far Fazilka as the district headquarter.

Considering the basis of notification issued on May 4, 2009 for hearing of election petitions, in the recently conducted Zila Parishad and Block Samiti elections

By the Govt. of Punjab Election Local Bodies Election Wing, the stations have been nominated for settlement of the complaints relating to elections. According to this notification, the complainants relating to election of Abohar have been advised to lodge their complaints in the office of DC Ferozepur.

Similarly, Ferozepur complaints in ADC Ferozepur, Jalalabad in Deputy Director Local Bodies, Ferozepur, Zira in SDM Zira have been advised to lodge their complaints.  It looks that the Fazilka and Pathankot has not been recognized as district b the Election Commission and the number of district listed are 18 against 20 district in Punjab.

As per the sources, 45 days time is given for lodging any complaint relating to election while 38 days have already passed to Zila Parishad and Block Samitis and the last date for filing of petition is 10th August.  But as per the directions given in the notification, no complainant is ready to file his complaint by traveling about 100-200 KMs distance to Ferozepur and for the purpose, he has to engage the counsel at that station also apart from visiting on every hearing wasting of lot of time and money. Perhaps, this is the reason that due to this notification, no complaint would now be registered

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.