Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai receive Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award
On the occasion of National Sports Day, President Pranab Mukherjee conferred Olympics Silver medallist PV Sindhu, Bronze medallist Sakshi Malik, Gymnast Dipa Karmakar and Shooter Jitu Rai with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award at New Delhi today. The Award is given for the most outstanding performance by a sportsperson over a period of four years.

President Mukherjee also honored six coaches including including Nagapuri Ramesh for Athletics, Sagar Mal Dhayal for Boxing and Raj Kumar Sharma for Cricket, Dipa Karmakar's coach Bishweshwar Nandi for Gymnastics with Dronacharya Award.

The Dronacharya Award for Lifetime contribution has been given to S. Pradeep Kumar for Swimming and Mahabir Singh for Wrestling.

The Dhyan Chand Award 2015 has been given to Athlete Satti Geetha, hockey player Sylvanus Dung Dung and Rower Rajendra Pralhad Shelke. Fifteen other sportsmen have been chosen for Arjuna Awards.

On Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi met PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar and Jitu Rai at his residence in New Delhi. He also met the Khel Ratna awardees, Dhyan Chand awardees and Dronacharya awardees.

The National Sports Day is celebrated to honour legendary hockey player, Major Dhyan Chand Singh who was born on 29th August, 1905.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.